Psyche logo

Mental Health

Danger Mentally Unstable!

By J.W. BairdPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

There's a stigma... but why?

I wish one day we could change the way others look at mental health!

Those that struggle with this day to day are the ones who need the most help.

Growing up I have always had these feelings inside that would pull me down.

It did not hit me as bad until I got older in life. Some days I wish I could break free and cut it out with a knife.

So, I did my best to hide it. But kids even when we think they don't, they can still see.

When days get dark and all you feel is the pain just hold on and try to remain sane.

The mind can play tricks and make you feel unloved. It can break your spirits, and make you feel as if you are coming undone.

Mental health is no joke, it's hereditary. So, the thought of handing this down to my kids is very scary to me.

Many will not reach out or even acknowledge they have mental health issues openly.

It's the stigma, that has been created by others that feel they can express their own opinions so freely.

To battle with your own mind is a hell come to life. If you want to make it through to the other side, you have to fight with all your might!

Some days you may feel unloved, tired, or unmotivated to even leave your bed.

But one must always remember these are lies that reside within your own head.

Whether delusions, paranoia, voices, or PTSD. Hallucinations, schizophrenia, bipolar, or OCD.

Anxiety, depression, or impulse control can all take a toll from the everyday experiences that we endure.

Many people go undiagnosed, not knowing what is wrong with them.

Feeling like you have no control over the thoughts that come rushing in. Like waves of the powerful ocean washing up against the shore.

Not being able to speak about it to the ones who love you while you lay there crying on the floor.

Hoping and praying that one day you wouldn't have to fight anymore.

Those who do not seek help, because they're too ashamed or in denial, may turn to substance abuse to numb the pain that's so vile.

But this too causes a viscous cycle. With the possibility of triggering new or deeper symptoms.

Only making those who suffer from mental health more of a victim held hostage by their own minds.

Until one finds the strength within themselves to realize what is real within their own eyes. They will never break free.

I grew up hearing comments about how needing to take meds is just being weak.

But if it were not for the time, I took to seek help. I may not be here to help others.

Now I take the time to speak up about the issues that have impacted me. Knowing my words can help someone look at their own mentality.

I've come to learn it's not about weakness, and I have no reason to feel ashamed.

It's a chemical imbalance. The stigma of mental health I put on others and place blame.

If we would not have created such a negative picture and taught mental health awareness through school lectures.

Think of all the lives that could have changed for the better. To weather the storms that come and go.

Encourage people to talk about it not caring who in the world may know.

This is the first step to helping others heal and grow.

To learn what triggers an episode. So, they know how it affects them and not rely on what they've been told.

We need to listen to our friends and family and not associate what's going on with them as only seeking attention.

This is the only way we can foster prevention with the intention of showing others they matter.

Mental Health, there's a stigma... but why?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

J.W. Baird

Who Am I?

I keep asking myself. I spent half of my life as a single mother. Pushing myself to be the strong independent individual that I have always been. My kids have grown and my life seems turned upside down.

I now search to find myself!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

J.W. Baird is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.