Psyche logo

Mental Health

When Your Mind Turns Against You

By Sam WoodPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Mental health affects 1 in 4 people, yet we still treat it as such a taboo subject. Struggling with a mental health problem is a very common thing, so why do we still shy away from discussing it? Because the truth is, we are embarrassed. We are ashamed that our own mind has turned against us and is making us feel such things.

Depression and anxiety are becoming increasingly common throughout all generations, and other mental illnesses are being recognised more quickly than ever before, thanks to more and more people coming forward and taking that step to ask for help.

When I took that very step and saw a GP about my depression and anxiety, I was even ashamed of telling my parents. I didn't want them to know I was struggling because I didn't think they'd understand. Being diagnosed with depression and anxiety is a very unusual feeling. On one hand I felt relieved that I had a diagnosis, and that it could be hopefully fixed over time. But I also felt like a stranger in my home. I felt like I had a great whopping sign on my head saying "mentally ill: proceed with caution." My parents didn't seem to know how to act around me, almost like they were afraid anything could reduce me to tears.

I was even too embarrassed to take my sick note into work; I had to get my dad to take it in for me. I was convinced they'd think I was overreacting or I was just being lazy and didn't want to work. I actually ended up quitting my job because I felt too embarrassed to show my face there again.

I was advised to speak to a therapist to try and talk my problems out, and was also prescribed anti-depressants. These tablets were also quite a heavy sedative to aid my sleep, and I'll be honest, they made me feel worse than before. I was constantly exhausted; I could literally fall asleep anywhere. I couldn't go about my daily tasks as I was too tired and fuzzy-brained to concentrate properly. My anxiety was constantly through the roof and my low mood showed now sign of improving. I made the decision myself to stop taking the medication, and see if I felt any better. Coming off the medication, I felt, was a step in the right direction. After a few days I realised I didn't feel so low all the time, and yes I was still anxious sometimes, but definitely not as much and it didn't feel as intense.

Thankfully after a lot of talking things through, having stress-free time to myself, and just relaxing, I have hope for the future again. I no longer feel as low or anxious; I feel happy and content.

So to anyone struggling with a mental health problem, please do not be ashamed or embarrassed to tell someone or to talk about it with people. We need to break this stigma that a mental illness shows weakness; we have to be able to talk about it. Because being able to talk about how we're feeling with someone can make a world of difference. Even if they aren't comfortable with talking about it yet, knowing they have someone there for when they are ready means an awful lot.

And if you know someone who is struggling with their mental health, please talk with them; let them know you're there for them. Don't feel awkward or uncomfortable talking about it. A mental health problem can happen to anyone at any time; it doesn't discriminate against anyone.

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Sam Wood

20 years old, writing both fictional and non-fictional pieces

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.