Psyche logo

life love and chronic conditions

living with bi polar , bpd and a rare auto immune disease

By clair lissendenPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
before my world fell apart 

when you suffer daily and risk hospital everyday all you can do is smile

In may 2017 i was put in intensive care after it looked like id had acid thrown in my face and it had swollen beyond recognition, And omg the pain was unreal and i came very close to not being here anymore i had a severe reaction to something and to this day we dont know what anyway my gp had given me steroids thinking it was allergy but it turned out to be a super infection and as a result my immune system was killed off so i had to be given several strong medications to counter act the damage . I was in such a dark place then as i looked like a freak and lost my lovely thick long hair due to the infection and my bipolar meant i thought everyone was staring and laughing at me when i ventured out of my sole room . 8 months on from then im still not healed but alot better i am covered in scars physically and emotionally . I have now been diagnosed with pemphigus vulgarias a very rare immune condition where it attacks your skin thinking its a threat which was triggered by my reaction in may so now i am constantly breaking out in very painful blisters that scab over and are hard to heal i am now at great risk of serious infection etc and i refuse to live life worrying so i just keep smiling and living life the best i can i am about to start treatment which involves killing my immune system so il be at even greater risk of serious issues and more hospitals .

please dont be too mortified by my pictures and il be back with more this is just a intro to this condition 1 of 4 i have including bipolar , bpd and severe anxiety

I am on a mission to make people aware of reactions to anything from hairdye to medications as that was the original cause of all this so please dont be so carefree about things like i was .

bipolarcopingpersonality disordertrauma
Like

About the Creator

clair lissenden

37 year old british lady with multiple ilnesses , a love for all animals and photography

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.