Psyche logo

Life begins at 60

finding yourself at 60

By Sylvia SandlinPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3

My journey into the new life I would have for myself began with a trip to the detox! I had been heavily drinking for about the last 10 years . As I watched my own health decline I also began to see my relationship; my children; and my general state of well being go as well. Suddenly things that had always been black and white had an incredible amount of gray.

There I stood in the abyss that was now my life. I had to make a decision because if I did not I was going to be in a place I did not want to be with someone staring back at me that I could not stand.

She was such a liar, a manipulator, and just as foreign to me as a stranger who woke up with me each morning without a name just a hideousness that I could not recognize. I had to face this demon or succumb to her self deceiving ways. I didn't like her and she had to go!!

I did what was necessary at that moment. My liquid courage was trying it's best to talk me out of the decision I had made. There she was again . She had a face and it was UGLY!!!

I entered detox on my son's birthday and called him before I left to tell him I was about to give him the best present I could think of. He was the strongest example of survival I knew at that time and still is today.

I walked thru those doors that had no handles to go back out and the demon alcohol went with me She clutched the door and lied like a badly frayed rug to get back out that door.

This time she did not win. We went through 1 month of rehab and miracle upon miracles I became the woman I remembered each day. Sylvia on steroids. I experienced clear thinking and reason for the first time in years I saw glimpses of the new woman coming out of me. No the drunk and not the one I expected ; a whole new complete woman.

Today I go to AA ; I volunteer; I have great relationships with new people ; I have great relationships with my kids and my home is MINE again. Time and AA and talking to professionals and other alcoholics has saved my life.

I no longer rely on 90 proof to get me through a day I rely on my faith and the person God truly created to bring new light to a world of darkness and this 62 year old has found freedom unsurpassed.

recovery
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.