Psyche logo

letter to an addict

( many types of addictions)

By JPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear friend,

I’m no therapist with a Dr. Degree. I'm you I went through it and one thing I have learned when I was speaking with my therapist, ”yes I do talk to a therapist”and my view on that is they open up your mind to understand yourself at an inner emotional level that we shut ourselves down from. We try to figure it out on on our own and sometimes we do, it's called self-healing most hold this power. I did a lot of self-healing and I got to the point where I ate healthy, exercised, and I live a healthy life. I don’t drink alcohol like I use to or sugary drinks. I look into my emotions before I react but there’s one thing I can’t and couldn’t heal myself anxiety. That's what is left from my drug abuse, moving onto alcohol abuse, and finally being emotionally abused by my partner Who I also developed an addiction to it's called an attachment, we do this with people and belongings. I couldn’t let go of this toxic relationship even if I knew it was toxic even if I knew he wasn’t going to change. Why? because I am a good person with mental problems. Reality hit the other day I was talking to somebody with an addiction on Facebook and I realized that I had the key all along to moving on from this, I will still need therapy I will still need medication but I’m taking the steps to change what was breaking me down little by little. I was stuck in thinking about the past and hoping for a better tomorrow. You know the what we say,” I will leave this tomorrow I will start tomorrow”. I realized that the issue is when being an addict we don't live in our now, we don't change today the moment, or the action we are presently living in because we are stuck in the past mistakes. What we could have done differently or the loss of what the addiction left us, understand this the past, it's gone it can't be fixed or changed going back would not heal us it being us back to the same place, but we need to forgive ourselves for it even when others can't and won't let us forget about it. They shouldn't because what they say or think needs to not matter to heal, because we need to stand tall and understand that they have a right to feel this way towards us but we hold the power today to choose who we want to be for the future the tomorrow. Most of us see that person in the future and that’s why we say,” tomorrow I will not use drugs or alcohol won't eat unhealthily and I will try to exercise”. Tomorrow never comes because you’re trying to live in the future you’re not living in your present moment in the right now. That's the key live in the now in this moment change this moment. It won't be easy because we must be present at all moments, anyone or anything that is causing stress or emotions of guilt get away from. They will understand when you are at a stronger mindset to withstand judgment and peoples doubts because people like that will always exist to trigger us to going back to the past but we can't run away from it. So at that moment bring yourself back quick and say to urself I know who I am and my life will show it one day because right now is about building and knowing that tomorrow is already today, because the tomorrow you so wanted is already happening. I was there once and now I am dealing with the anxiety but I am living better and at peace. Its not easy but it's harder to live in the past and worried about the future but never in the present moment. I understand you and feel ur pain you are not alone.

addiction
Like

About the Creator

J

An empathic's perspective to a 2020 world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.