Psyche logo

Just another step forward

My blog about alcohol addiction and helping others

By Fudsique GilmorePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Free image courtesy of AdobeStock

Welcome!

First, let me thank you for just stopping in to look. This topic is definitely a dicey one, so I applaud your courage and appreciate you joining in. By simply visiting this blog, our Instagram page or our website Fudzq.com, you are helping us spread our message. It is my hope that through the shared experiences and hard acquired knowledge of people who, like myself, have battled with alcohol addiction, we will be able to form a network of information and available resources for those who continue struggle. I truly believe that those of us who have had success in overcoming our dependence on alcohol can help by sharing inspirational stories of recovery and messages of encouragement inside an online community of individuals interested in paying it forward by helping others who are now where we once were.

Many of us have been through traditional 12-step programs with little to no success. Some of us have tried non-traditional methods and programs only to find the same hit-and-miss results. A good number of us have done it more than once. We know from experience that there are tons of options to choose from as we have dragged ourselves through the ringer to learn that what works for one doesn't necessarily work for another. Sadly, with all of the experience, knowledge and help available out there, we're still losing our friends and family members.

I can't just mourn them anymore. I'm going to start honoring their memories by creating a space where we can share what worked for us, how and where to find help, and to offer an ear to those asking for guidance. Very hopefully, with a little help from all of you, we can start helping others find what works for them.

So, here's what I'm thinking...

I plan to start using this blog to discuss the myriad topics related to alcohol addiction and sobriety. Being that these issues are sensitive, complex and incredibly wide-ranging, I intend to focus specifically on my personal experiences and the decisions that ultimately led me to choose a life free from alcohol. In the end, It's my hope that these conversations will help generate interest in (and support for) Fudzq.com and our greater mission. I am acutely aware of the massive undertaking that this is, hence the beautiful and daunting mountain peaks in the background. Cliché though the picture may be, I am looking forward to the challenge ahead.

My story is by no means the only one like it, but it is mine and I will tell it to you straight. Some of what I share will make you laugh, though I suspect that most of it will not. At times, the language will be coarse and the content unsavory, but I can assure you that it will be an honest depiction of my struggles with (and triumphs over) alcohol dependency. I haven't yet decided exactly how to tell the story (beginning-to-end, topical, anecdotal, etcetera) but I'm sure I'll figure it out.

Hang in there with me while I find the creative process that works best for me. In the meantime, feel free to message me with questions, topic suggestions or to share information about resources available to those of us in need. Ultimately, that is what this is all about; reaching out and helping our friends, relatives and loved ones who are currently struggling.

Thanks again for visiting. I truly appreciate the support. Stay tuned for more!

Cheers,

Fudsique

recovery

About the Creator

Fudsique Gilmore

Rambling rants about my incurable tendencies toward self-destruction, living through the torment of my own making, and the love of "that one girl".

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Fudsique GilmoreWritten by Fudsique Gilmore

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.