Psyche logo

Joe Goldberg and Love Quinn

You talk, laugh and hang around them everyday

By Janay EaleyPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2

You is a hit Netflix show about a man who has obsessive behaviors towards women who he does not know. Instead of getting to know them in the right way like the average person taking them on dates, he invades their privacy and gets off fantasizing about them. These behaviors are disturbing and creepy to where it does not matter what he does to have the woman that he wants.

I found out about the show when I was in high school. One day, at one of our games where it was time to head back to the bus, my teammates were chattering about the second season. It was not surprising that teens were watching content that was not their age bracket.

It was a spoiler alert for me because I never watched the show until later. I could not be shocked at the finale when Joe’s new obsession was revealed to have the same dangerous nature. Way to go ladies for taking that aha moment away from me! (I still love you all!)

The fans could not understand why Joe was shocked to find out his obsession was just like him, but I could because he knows how much a monster that he is, and he wanted a woman that was going to change him instead of the first time when he started showing certain behaviors, that help was needed.

I know that Joe and Love are like each other but that does not mean that I agree with being together. This story is not about how alike they are but how we are surrounded by Joe’s and Love’s in our lives. The show is a perfect example of how you really do not know who people are and that is why I like the show.

You think you know them, but it turns out that you were wrong. I remember watching a TikTok where a user created a joke where he stands in front of the window wearing a casual outfit and they are holding a tissue, pretending to cry.

“He was such a good boy...” they said.

The sad music plays in the background.

The user is shaking their head.

“I do not why he would do this..”

This joke was to make fun of the families of the serial killers in the documentaries explaining what they knew compared to what we know based on their crimes.

I rolled my eyes at the comments because of how unsympathetic and ignorant people were. I understand how people are when it comes to serial killers but sometimes you need to use your brain and connect the dots. If we did not have the media and police, we would not know anything about them.

Whenever someone commits a heinous crime, and those crimes are broadcasted on television for the world to see, journalists will always ask friends, neighbors, and family about what that person was like. People will perceive others differently.

A, B and C could see the good side of D. E, F, G, can see the dark side of H but I could say that they knew something was off about J but did not think they were capable of the acts. K would say that they seemed normal to them. In the show, Love’s friends have no idea about her behaviors.

If her crimes were revealed to the public, what do you think would be said about her? Are her friends and family members going to believe that she would ever do such a thing?

In America, we have either walked past or been in the same room with a Joe Goldberg and a Love Quinn regardless of how you feel. There are your friends, classmates, coworkers, siblings. They are not just complete strangers. They can live a life just like us and not everyone will suspect a thing.

personality disorderhumanity
2

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I love what you said here. I actually do know when people are messed up, because I get gut feelings about it. I used to always ignore those gut feelings and give people a chance, only to get burned by them. The funny thing is, it’s always always always popular people who are the most fake! 10 times out of 10. They’re the most charming and friendly people, but it’s surface level. And everyone says they’re so nice. If I say I have a bad feeling about them, or I noticed they did or said something messed up, everyone will attack me like I’m the problem. So I keep that info to myself and let people find out the hard way. They’re probably ignoring their own gut feelings like I used to! I watched the first season of You, and I thought it was lame. I couldn’t finish the book either. I don’t find people like Joe fascinating. Just pathetic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.