Psyche logo

It's my time

short story

By Brigid MillerPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

My mom banged on the bathroom door, "You're failing two classes! What’s wrong with you?!" I could barely hear her over the sound of my music. I looked down at my feet. Something was happening. I couldn't move, couldn't speak, couldn't think. I wasn't frozen, I blacked out. I didn't fall, I didn't knock anything down. It happened again. I looked the shower floor. I started crying. I thought to myself "Why can't I be normal?"

To clear up what happened, I honestly don't know. This "thing" started happening in 5th grade. One night, I was sitting in my room crying, thinking about what "they" said that day. I blacked out. I didn't remember anything. But ever since then it's like I'm being controlled by something then I black out. The scars on my arms scare me because I honestly don't know what happened.

My mom banged on the door again, "It's 11:30pm go to sleep!" I slowly moved from looking at the shower floor, shocked. I turned off the water, grabbed my phone and got out of the shower. This time it was bad, I couldn't think of one time it was like this. I didn't care, I got dressed, grabbed my phone and went to my room. I turned off my light, plugged in my phone and went to sleep. ~

I woke up with my body sore. I tried not to think about it as I got dressed. Sweatshirt, leggings, boots, messy bun. I was out the door in ten minutes. I got to school; my friends were laughing having a good time. I stopped turned and walked right out of the school. I went and sat in some coffee shop down the street. I didn't know where I was going but I wasn't staying here. The lady working came up and asked me if I was okay. My general response is "yes" and flash a fake smile. But this time all I said was "Yea, can I get a vanilla cappuccino?" She gave me a sad look then said, "Sure baby" I held out a 5-dollar bill, but she refused and said "It's on me" smiled and walked off.

I felt relieved that she didn't ask me anymore questions, but I still felt bad leaving my friends like that. Especially my best friend. She'll probably text me sometime and ask where I was, no biggie. The lady came back and said, "Here's your cappuccino, and my number in case you need anything." I looked from the paper to her and a big smile formed on her face. "Thanks" I said as she walked away.

I drank slowly as I watched the morning news. I pulled out of my bag a notebook and a pencil. I always keep a notebook, either it's full of lists, stories, or lyrics. I turned to an empty page and wrote "February 26, 2013" I stopped, took a drink, and kept writing, my last words were "I don't know where I'm going but I'm not staying here." I tore out the page, folded it up and put it in my back pocket. I put my pencil and notebook back in my bag. I sat there a little longer, watching the tv. I finally looked at my phone. "9:12am" I looked and the lady and nodded saying "thank you but I'm leaving." I grabbed my bag and walked out the door.

I started walking to my friend’s house. "I'll slip it under the door, so she'll see it when she gets home." When I got there I slowly walked up and slid the note under the front door. Turning I started to cry. I walked away, not knowing what I was doing or where I was going. I put my headphones in and turned my music up all the way to forget the world. I started north; I think. This is the way my mom goes to work so I'm guessing north. I passed by a couple of police who just looked and turned away, not asking where I was going. Which was good because I didn't know either. I walked for a while until there were no cars. Just trees, old sheds, and grass. Lots of it. I figured this was a good place to sit and rest for bit. I found a nice shady spot under an oak tree, sat down, and took a nap.

I woke with some people staring at me and a light in my eyes. I sat up quickly, I looked at my phone, dead. They didn't do anything just stared. I grabbed the flashlight that some guy was holding and started running. I started crying. I couldn't stop thinking about my friends, my family, what they would do. I thought about Caitlin and wondered if she was trying to text me. I was running, running into blackness then...

I couldn't breathe, or I thought I couldn't. I saw a light and me. But it wasn't me. I mean it was, but I wasn't me. I saw what I ran into or what hit me. I couldn't believe my eyes. "Put me back! I can't do this! Put my back!" I shouted hoping something would happen. Nothing did. After a bit I investigated the light and blacked out.

I couldn't tell if I was alive or not. I didn't try to move, breathe, or anything. I didn't see anything, it was black. I heard voices, but I still couldn't see anything. "Just let me die already." I didn't care, I wanted all of it to end. I didn't want to wake up. I didn't want to be here. Suddenly I heard Caitlin's voice. "NO! You don't understand! She's my best friend! You have to let me see her!"

I felt at home listening to her voice but then it disappeared. I felt myself drifting away again. "4 pints lost, she's not going to make it, is she?" Her voice, she was crying. I wanted to scream, I wanted to let her know I was okay, that I could hear her. I tried to do everything I could to let her know I was still here. "Brooke, I love you. I'll miss you." She said crying. I couldn't stand it, I needed to tell her I was still here, but I couldn't.

I wanted to die but I also wanted to tell Caitlin I was still here, but I didn't know how. I needed to tell her I missed her. I wanted to know she was there for me. I didn't want to go back home. I didn't want to face my parents. I didn't want them to come here. "Will you please not let her parents know?" It's like she could hear me, like she knew I didn't want them here. "Miss, we have to let an adult know" "No! No, you don't, it's okay. I have a feeling she doesn't want anyone but me to know." I tried to move but nothing happened. I couldn't believe this. I was in a fucking coma; Caitlin was scared shitless and my parents probably didn't even know I left. I wanted out; I didn't want to be there. In a coma, in the fucking hospital, on the planet. I wanted to disappear, but not this way.

I remembered all the things Caitlin did for me. She got me through all the hard times, and the good times. The times I was scared and the times I just didn't want to be myself. When things got bad, I stayed at her house. One times I remember I stayed there for a month because of my parents.

I couldn't leave her. She was my friend, sister, twin. If anyone could make me smile, it was her. She's done so much for me; I can't leave her now. I heard the nurse, barely. "I'm sorry but -" her voice faded. I was fading, I could hear sobbing. I saw a bright light, then everything went black.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.