Psyche logo

How I Beat Depression

7 Steps to reconnect to the joy in life.

By Leon MacfaydenPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
How I Beat Depression
Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

In 2003, I experienced a severely traumatic event that left me with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. By 2007 I had to be medically retired from my job and was considered permanently disabled by the medical profession.

The loss of identity and purpose led to severe depression, beginning in 2010 when I was just 30 years old.

Depression was so heavy that I struggled even to get out of bed.

Depression was so thick that it created an impenetrable wall between me and my loved ones.

A depression so consuming that it drove me to the brink of suicide and led to a short period of hospitalization.

It took 10 years to break free from depression’s clutches. So I cannot lie to you and say it was quick, nor easy.

What I can do though is break down how I transformed my life. How I now wake up every day with Joy in my heart and a purpose in my life. I sincerely hope you find some comfort in the things I am about to discuss.

1. Medication.

Let’s start with a somewhat controversial topic. Medication for mental illness gets a lot of bad press. The popular refrain is that it is useless at best and toxic and damaging at worst. Some people will even go so far as to tell you not to take it.

I can categorically state that I would not be alive today if it were not for medication. This is not to say it was a quick fix. I had to try more than 10 different medications to find the combination that worked for me. All of them take up to six weeks to know if they are working. When depressed, six weeks is a lifetime.

The medication also carries the risk of side effects. Sometimes they can be serious. At one point I gained over 90lbs in weight (before all this I worked out 6 days a week), and slept up to 16 hours a day.

Eventually, we hit on the right combination and dose. I currently have no side effects and have lost a large chunk of the excess weight. I credit medication with being the most important thing on this list, but it only took me so far in isolation.

2. Love.

The most important thing medication did was break down the walls between me and other people. Finally, I was able to feel love again. Love from my mum and dad, who never missed a beat when it came to looking after me and tolerating my moods and outbursts while fighting tirelessly to get me help.

I also felt the love of my wife. It could be argued that my mum and dad had to put up with me to some extent as we are related. However, my wife could have left at any time. She didn’t have to tolerate any of it. I cannot begin to thank her.

My dad died 2 years ago today. I hope I can make him proud.

Ask yourself how you can open your heart to love.

3. Purpose.

To get out of bed and function you have to have a purpose for doing so. Many people automatically attribute this purpose to their work, but it doesn’t have to be so. You might have a hobby, a desire to learn something new, a willingness to help others. Something to get you up in the morning with a spring in your step.

For me, that purpose has been studying finance and learning. I know this may sound dry but bear with me.

By studying finance, I was able to learn about the stock market. This meant I was able to invest my savings and I now make a healthy return. Not only does this help me financially, but it gives me pride that I was able to learn about this all by myself and am now seeing the rewards.

To learn, I read books. Depression robbed me of my concentration but it has returned.

So ask yourself what is your purpose? If you don’t have one now, what could it be in the future? Remember to get the first 2 steps right before you push yourself with this one.

4. Exercise.

This is the last thing you can do when in the throes of a depressive episode, which is why it is important to take things slowly and implement the first few steps before considering this.

Before my depression, even with PTSD, I would work out 6 days a week. This included weights and Martial Arts.

Like with many things, depression robbed me of this as well and, as previously mentioned I became very fat.

I am now back to exercising between 3 and 4 times a week. Exercise has huge benefits for mental health and at the end of a hard session you will feel proud of yourself, focused, clear-headed, and ready to take on the world.

Exercise is another thing that gives me purpose, helps me set goals, teaches discipline and patience. What more could you ask for?

5. Eating Healthy.

I have to admit this is the one solution I find most difficult. One reason is my medication gives me a constant craving for sweet foods. Thankfully my exercise helps keep some of the weight off but this is a work in progress.

I do know that there is a clear link between food and mood and when I do eat properly I have boundless energy and enthusiasm for working hard. When I succumb to “bad food” I end up sluggish, “thick-headed” and it leaves me drowsy for the rest of the day.

6. A good amount of sleep.

For me, this is crucial. If I do not get 8 hours of sleep, I am completely unproductive the next day. Depression and medication have messed around with my sleep schedule quite a bit over the years.

At one time I took a medication that gave me complete insomnia. I could not sleep a wink.

Later, I took a medication that left me sleeping for 16 hours a day and turned me into a zombie.

As I stressed before, medication is a double-edged sword and can have some substantial side effects. Please stick with your doctor's advice.

I am now at the stage where I feel energetic all day and can fall asleep in no time when I go to bed. I still suffer regular nightmares related to my PTSD but I am in a good place with this one.

For you, 8 hours may be too much. You may need 7 or less. Just be mindful of how you feel when you wake up and adjust accordingly.

7. Connecting with Others.

This is a separate one from “love” because it is much wider-reaching and is the step that came to me last.

When you finally emerge from the enslavement of depression, you realize the world is not as terrifying as you thought. We are all connected at some level. There is a broad connection you may feel to the hustle and bustle of life.

Where there was darkness, now there is light and you may realize more people love you than you ever thought possible.

All of the above are steps along the way to my emergence from a depressive misery. As I said before, your journey may be slightly different, but I believe it will be broadly similar.

The thing that will be identical is the most crucial of all. That is that you, like me, WILL emerge from the hell you are suffering. You have all the tools necessary.

I know you have bravery because you are still here.

I know you are loved because people haven’t given up on you.

I know you want to get better because you have read this far.

You deserve to be happy and live the best life you can. I truly hope that something I have written will resonate with you and encourage you on the next step of your journey.

For me, I am currently depression-free. I say “currently” because I take each day at a time. I am grateful for all the small pleasures and joys in my life because I know how easily they can be taken away.

I consider myself on a lifelong journey to fulfill my potential. I cannot say depression will be gone forever. However, I can say I have taken all possible steps to fortify myself against its return.

I surround myself with love, light, and positivity. I trust in you to reach this for yourself.

coping
Like

About the Creator

Leon Macfayden

From a police officer to a psychiatric ward and recovery.

Grab my new FREE checklist for the top 5 books that will change your life starting today.

From fear and worry to courage and success.

Turn adversity into advantage.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.