Psyche logo

Free Yourself: It's Time for You to Heal from Emotional

Unraveling the Powerful Effects of Emotional Abuse

By Som DuttPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Free Yourself: It's Time for You to Heal from Emotional
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

My spirit aches, my heart is sore

My thoughts no longer clear and pure

A toll the emotional abuse has taken

Throughout the years, I have been shaken

The moments of pain and hurt just linger

My trust for others grows ever thinner

So many times I've been knocked down

My faith in love and trust is drowned

My emotions are raw and confused

Each thought my psyche has abused

My inner strength has been so tested

My life has been so deeply invested

In the pain and suffering I've been through

My heart and soul have so much to do

To find the courage and hope anew

To push away all that I knew

It's not an easy path to traverse

My will must remain strong and terse

I need to take control of my life

And break free of all this strife

The healing process is so hard to face

The strength I need is not an easy race

But I must keep my courage and pride

For only then will I ride the tide

My wounds must heal and time must pass

So I can break free of the emotional glass

I need to start living life with peace

And learn to find joy in the least

My happiness is what I must strive for

My inner strength is the key to the door

The pain of emotional abuse must be gone

To make way for the light of a new dawn

Unspeakable pain lingers still,

A harrowing silence cries aloud,

It's hard to heal on our own terms,

But by taking the journey we vow,

Each step will bring strength in its wake,

And slowly how these wounds mend,

The truth of who you are will shine through,

You'll rise and bloom again.

No more tears walling up inside,

No more dreams of yesterday,

By facing it all head on and with faith

It’s a new sun that’ll break.

When emptiness holds you in thrall

And colors your life, black and pall

When walls of grief block off your sight

Tears streaming down like rain at night

Be not afraid, nor give up hope

As a spark of strength starts to grope

Take those steps that pave the way

From which you can free yourself today  

Your wings will grow, find their flight

It's time for you to heal from emotional might.

Free yourself, it's time to feel,

For too long you have been still.

Let go of burdens from the past,

And find strength and joy in your new cast.

It's in your hands, so take some time,

To find solace inside to shine.

Find courage beyond fear of pain—  

Grant love and forgiveness to regain.

Take a new breath, find the strength

Within to free yourself, takes a dive

into your own depths and feel the swell,

for this is the place you can build

and let go of all that no longer serves.

Allow wounds to heal in peaceful reserves,

this is how you rise above fear's cage.

Now's the time for a brand new page!

Its time to break away from the strain,

And let go of your emotional pain,

Dont linger in shadows of doubt,

For that chains you and keeps you from out.

Take a deep breath and fly high above,

Take heart and open up your love.

Free yourself from the sorrow inside,

Focused on now and have pride.

depressioncopinganxietyaddiction
1

About the Creator

Som Dutt

I write about Psychology and Philosophy. I am the top writer in Psychology and Philosophy on Medium.com

https://somdutt777.medium.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Liviu Romanabout a year ago

    I just wanted to express my gratitude for sharing your story with us. Your words really spoke to me, and I'm so glad to have come across your writing. I'm now a devoted fan, and can't wait to see more of your work in the future.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.