Psyche logo

Dream Flight ✈

🎠

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
4

Within autonomous flights of dream processing, of Oneirology, between the correlations of dreaming and the functioning of my brain waves, between flights of understanding brain works during dreaming, between pertinent memory formation and mental parameters, I sleep and dream, flying on wings of the conscious and the unconscious.

My dreams do not present themselves in clear ways, but in elaborate forms, reaching and covering a panorama of deforming perspectives.

Dreams soar towards a Royal Road, towards the unconscious. Dreams are not created by the brain randomly, throwing together memories and recently experienced lives. They come from psychological perspectives created by the soul or psyche, all the while communicating to me.

Within this journeyed flight, I meet Sigmund Freud, "Dreams are a royal road to the unconscious". He advised.

Then came Jung with sage words "The dream is a little hidden door in the innermost and most hidden recesses of the psyche". Those doors were opening up, flying me to different dreamscape worlds. With a bit of fear and trepidation I entered, flew with hope, embraced them one by one. I needed to find out what the unconscious was trying to tell me, and the reasoning behind it all.

I learned that dreams show qualities of ourselves to be looked at; either to be downplayed or incorporated more in order to create psychic balance and movement towards wholeness. Our traits are shown to us, the dreamers, through the actions of dream characters or dream animals.

Dream figures floated by, dragons, unicorns, phoenixes, all the mythical creatures that fill my fancy, not the real ones passing along life's path. What does that mean to my flight through life. Are they shadows, or previously owned or disowned parts of myself. Are they vital to my well being?

As I take ownership and begin to integrate these traits into my daily life, will personal growth occur and new energy enter into my life. Will my dreams act, in this sense, in a self-regulating way." Will the unconscious present a point of view which enlarges, completes, or compensates the conscious attitude. Are dreams a way in which our true self holds up a mirror to us and say, “This is my take on what’s really going on.” (June Singer asked, as she flew by).

In the book, Mindsight, author Daniel Siegel stated that dreaming is “one of the important ways we integrate memory and emotion,” with the dream serving as “an amalgam of memories in search of resolution.” Whether dealing with trauma, decision-making or life transitions, it is the feeling tone of the dream which is more important than the actual content of the dream.

I then began looking at the feelings felt by figures in the dream. Honestly addressing the question, “What situation might I be experiencing (or deny experiencing) which correlate with feelings similar to those in the dream?”

The symbolic and metaphoric languages often frustrate people who want to work with their dreams. I begin to curiously and playfully interact with my dreams rather than trying to ‘figure out’ what they mean. Using terms such as “it was as if’ or ‘it was like’ to describe vivid features. For example, ‘It was as if the whole wall was going to crumble.’ Ah, then I can move to, “What perspective or idea in me is ready or needs to fall apart?”

The realization that dreams are one way to gain insights into how I choose to journey through life brings me to closure within this dream flight of true recognition and self-actualization. James Hillman suggested, “The soul is ceaselessly talking about itself in ever-recurring motifs in ever-new variations, like music, and it is immeasurably deep.” Where will your inner road lead you. To what flights of fancy will you be willing to journey as life calls on us to fly free and unlimited.

I am limitless in this flight!

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>><><>><><>

Some ideas from Diane Hancox, Soul reflections.

humanityselfcare
4

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Erika Ravnsborgabout a year ago

    Wonderful! I feel very inspired after reading this. Thanks Novel!

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    well crafted material..........

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Deep

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.