Psyche logo

Do You Have any idea What It's Prefer to Live With Autism in a World of "Normal People"

I am Ray, and I'm a "ordinary" normal teenager with Asperger Syndrome.

By Sha AyeimanPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

I generally realize that I was somewhat unique, acted somewhat different, perhaps took things excessively in a real sense. On one occasion my dad told me to "bring the trash bins in" and I carried them into the house. Some other time a coach told me "to filch a second base" I removed the base out of the ground. I had a substitute teacher in third grade who changed my life from that day forward. There was a guide in our group and I never knew why she was there. That day I felt the guide hovering me and in my third grade way told her I didn't require her assistance. The teacher told me "that help is hanging around for you since you have a disability". I had no clue about what that word disability implied yet It didn't sound great.

The moment I got off the transport I hurried to my mother to ask her. Through the tears in her eyes and outrage all over her face she put me down to explain of what a disability WASN'T and What Asperger's was. The key thing I recall from this entire discussion was her telling me, "a disability is just an inability on the off chance that you let it keep you down. No disability can at any point characterize what your identity is and what you are capable to do". In any case, as far as I might be concerned, I just thought that I needed to dispose of that guide in the classroom and wanted to be a "normal" kid like all of my friends.

Autism was and is a feared word for me. I can't actually relate to it since there are such countless various feelings packed inside that single word. However, confusion and exasperation are the main ones for me. Confusion since I'm a 17-year-old kid who really feels "normal", yet at the same time has this stigma devoted to me. At the point when autism is discussed in class or in a group of people I get annoyed. Not in view of the word "autism or autistic" but since I don't tell people. It isn't that much that I'm feeling humiliated or embarrassed. I simply don't want those people to take a look at me differently or feel terrible for me.

So after I steal second base during that game, I concluded myself that baseball wasn't for me. I needed greater obligation, more action. I pursued for soccer and was placed into the goal position. It was something special that would change me as foolish as it sounds. It was a significant role for me I had the option to be apart of a team where I felt acknowledged and very much like the others and I succeeded in it.

So today as you read this, how is it living with a disability? I'm a 17-year-old kid who is applying for colleges, I'm the Varsity Goalie with an astounding amount of saves, I have companions, and drive. I have work harder than any of my companions know to conquer this and, guess what? I realized that I am a "NORMAL" teen!

While I actually giggle some of the time thinking about that baseball game and each time a youngster got on second base they wobbled, I understand I actually have a few things I need to deal with like managerial skills, and ensuring myself to look people in their eyes, but hello, what "normal" teen doesn't? I can say this while I roughly remember all the treatment my mother tells me in about, regardless of what universities acknowledge me or what universities don't I am so glad for myself that I never let this characterize me or hold me back thus grateful to my mother more than she knows for not letting it. "Why me?" is an inquiry that I, my family, or the cleverest man on the earth can at any point answer. Essentially not currently. At any rate, what is "normal?" We are all different in our own way.

treatmentsstigmaselfcaredisordercoping
Like

About the Creator

Sha Ayeiman

Love to share some facts and news about life.

Love to write fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.