Psyche logo

Covid diary, day 600

roughly

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
the nasty gene

To start with I had a positive covid test on December third 2020. I am suffering still and day 600 sounded a reasonable guess. It was a bad start, I found out I hadn't had a deserved promotion and went to bed disappointed. I woke up feeling rough and so took a covid test. Three days later covid was confirmed.

As I am a frontline carer I had covid test kids at home, ready for weekly tests. My luck has been so bad it was always a case of when it would get me rather then if I would get it. There followed an initial 6 months of bad chest, poor breathing and zero energy. I struggled to walk to the nearest shops, barely 200 yards away. My job needs focus, energy and ability to move so I didn't work for over 5 months. Often sleeping the night through but needing one or two sleeps during the day.

I was also left with constant chest pain, a problem I have to this day. I am on 3 large pain killers a day plus back up tramadol for when the pain is to bad for 3 nurofen 800mg tablets. Over time my breathing is better and my stamina is better, though both much worse then before. Work is very hard but I enjoy it and need the money.

Then 6 months ago the news got worse, just for a change. I was suffering more then ever with the chest pain, so I contacted the 111 phone service. For any non uk residents the service is for non emergency cases that need advice from qualified staff. I asked if I could take extra pain killers on top of the nurofen, the tramadol hadn't been prescribed at that stage.

The operator had a set menu of questions, unfortunately by answering truthfully about the pain and its location I ended up with an ambulance. They confirmed what I already knew, no I wasn't having a heart attack. Of course there was a but, they noticed my blood pressure was high.

So after some tests and doctor chats I have long covid, high blood pressure and high cholesterol to go with the pre existing depression. This means my blood stream probably has a street value as I know take 8 tablets a day plus any emergency ones as needed.

I sit here typing this 2 hours after my double nurofen intake and everything hurts. My hands hurt to type this, my back hurts sitting up and my shoulders just hurt non stop. I struggle to do a fraction of what I did before and if I try even a little more I suffer.

I am getting married in two weeks, I am looking forward to it. I am also worried for my partner who I know worries constantly about me. I don't know the sort of husband I will be or how my ailments will affect me long term. I am much older then her, which doesn't help if I am slowed down artificially.

I am eating less as don't feel hungry much but I cant exercise so not much is improving. I was going to the gym before I became ill but that's pointless now as couldn't do anything if I went.

I have a loving fiancé and a loving family but this is hard. I would just like a day where I don't hurt, a day where I can focus, a day I don't get out of breath within minutes of starting anything.

I would also like to be off the drugs but its a massive circle. If I could exercise I might hurt less and the weight loss would help the blood pressure. If I could exercise I might feel better and could cut down the anti depressants. The high cholesterol means I have changed my diet massively but doesn't seem to have done much.

I just need a break, please.

coping
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.