Psyche logo

150 days

Recovery one day at a time

By Emmy BPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
150 days
Photo by Kevin Jesus Horacio on Unsplash

It’s been a while since I’ve truly felt like myself. I am not even sure who that is anymore or when the last time was that I lived and breathed my values and my truth.

I spent a lot of the last year lying and hiding, denying myself for the benefit of an addiction. I became a different person, putting something so destructive before my peers, my work, my relationship, my life. In the evening I would be dependent, flying high on a belief that things would be ok because at least I could work and persevere, despite.. no.. thanks to the addiction. In the morning I would wallow, looking forward to the moment I would come alive again, unless interrupted, where I would bleed and cry and curl up in a ball on the bathroom floor.

At the time, there was nothing but logic in my mind. I knew it was wrong but rationalised it to a point where I deceived everyone, including myself. For a period, there was nothing but this as my truth - it kept me going and pretending to live a life where the shell I had built, my exterior persona was still surviving. And god did I do everything for it to survive. I had lived 28 years in this body, with this mind, surely I could continue being this person despite violating everything about myself for a fleeting sensation of artificial self-worth. But it felt like without it I was nothing.. I had been fine without it but now it was here, there was nothing but it giving me life, giving me meaning. It was terrifying. It is terrifying.

People didn’t notice. I was a bit off, maybe I was drinking too much, or oversharing, or just overall a bit different, but everyone was at that time - and nobody was close enough to see (and those that were trusted me.. to their greatest deception). This made me even more convinced that I could live this way - but also that it was just a phase.

But slowly the shell started to crack, and those cracks were destructive. My life was slowly coming apart and no matter how much I would spend and how much I would give in to my addiction it was all unravelling. And I was scared, because now I knew I couldn’t keep going but I couldn’t stop, and I was this thing, this shell, with a shadow of myself that had self-manipulated to become dependent on this powder, this substance. I was alone, more alone than I had ever been - nobody knew my truth, and nobody could see that I was no longer me, because I had been so good at hiding it. And as it started cracking and I couldn’t hang on any longer, I was faced with the facts: I had lied and betrayed everyone around me, time and time again for the better part of a year.

When the truth came out, at first it was like a weight was lifted and at the time I believed myself to be better, because I had shared and sharing meant I was no longer alone. Except.. it was worst - because I couldn’t live in the shell anymore but there was nothing left, the remnants of my soul and who I was had been bleached away into a gaping hole filled by my addiction. The shell was cracked, the interior was disintegrated, and people cared but I couldn’t - I just couldn’t deal with the pity, the hurt, the anger, the shame, and the knowledge of who I had become. Suddenly it wasn’t about enhancing, it was about numbing, it was about surviving. Because I had destroyed what I knew of me, until everything was simply a lie - even what I thought I understood or remembered about me.

I continued and got better at lying, so much so that I couldn’t even tell truth from inconsistency anymore, my entire life was a fallacy. I damaged the people around me, and everything that I touched was built on sand, a fake veneer that perpetuated the notion that the me that once was still resided in my body. So much energy spent on this idea of who I should be, who people could be.. that no energy was spent ono finding out what happened to me, what I had become and what part of me was still there.

Today marks 150 days since I stopped for good.

I wanted to sweep this under the rug, to close my eyes and pretend it didn’t happen. But I couldn’t focus, constantly trying to fill the void with something - first alcohol, then activities, shopping, and more. With some help I am starting to piece together the parts of myself that I forgot and that hibernate within my heart, kept safe somehow from the ravages of my actions.

I’m still taking it one day at a time - too much stress or pressure makes me want to go back and I just can’t afford to. I’m speaking to someone who is helping me through my hurtful beliefs and what I’m learning are co-dependent traits. Thats a story for another day.

Today marks 150 days and I am proud. To be honest I thought it would be easier.. to get back to my life and to myself, but every day is a step forward, even when looking backwards.

addiction
2

About the Creator

Emmy B

I write some of my truths, and use words to weave stories and ideas together. Writing is a passion and an outlet for me and I hope to inspire, challenge, or simply be a reflection of others's experiences - to make people feel seen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.