Poets logo

Choosing your colours

Nobody but you

By Emmy BPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Choosing your colours
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Pink lips, blue eyes, and yellow hair that once was brown

Sparkling raspberry cheeks and strokes of brilliant whites

framing two pools of ocean inviting you to drown

A fresh and minty exhale an icy breath invites

If People and places are an ensemble of colour, feeling and truth

Then i am a kaleidoscope, ever changing, never settled.

Look right and you will spot the bright yellow of my youth

But look left to grasp the charcoal yearning for emerald

I wake up like the sunrise, yellows and pinks arise

A hope for fulfilment and happy, blushing excitement

Cooled by expectations of a mind waiting for demise.

And there I sleep: in the indigo, tainted by rust, still defiant.

My past has seen the red fire of destructive love

All consuming, yearning for a passioned heat

Flickering, engulfing, breathing scarlet admissions of

A refusal to believe in the warmth only self-love can treat

What is colour but perception, and what is perception

But the power you choose to give it.

Do you choose your colour palette?

Or does your environment define the shades of your introspection

If it was you, what would you see, how would you paint

Your truth, internal, external; bright and unique.

If it was me, I would not stop

until the colours that make up my life, myself and my reality

Ran together - into a colour that words can only hope to interpret.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Emmy B

I write some of my truths, and use words to weave stories and ideas together. Writing is a passion and an outlet for me and I hope to inspire, challenge, or simply be a reflection of others's experiences - to make people feel seen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.