Pride logo

Carry Pride in your Heart (Micro-nonfiction)

When the rainbows are put away, and the glitter fades, how do we keep pride in our hearts?

By ThatWriterWomanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Carry Pride in your Heart (Micro-nonfiction)
Photo by Tristan B. on Unsplash

My First Pride

I will always remember my first Pride event. I went to one at the approximate age of 11/12. My identity at the time was confined to the pressures placed upon it by others. I was a straight ally, practicing Catholic with a growing curiosity for the LGBT+ community. Little did tiny WriterWoman know, she would grow up to be a proud member of the LGBT+ community. That was the start of my journey, my self-discovery.

I felt something new that day, a true sense of acceptance. It held no conditions. I didn't have to be anything other than myself to fit in there. It was a wonderful feeling.

When I used to sit in church, I felt as if I was pouring myself into a bottomless well. The well would swallow my authenticity and give nothing but an eerie silence back, making me reflect on what could be wrong with me. Why wasn't I getting anything back?

Going to that pride event felt very different, but not less moving than a religious practice for me. I felt as if the 'pride well' was a geyser of acceptance and interaction. One which flew out at me, flurrying into my senses and beckoning me to dive in, when I was ready.

A large part of this was watching a drag show. I had never seen such a thing - and it was fabulous! The drag queen tore down the patriarchal structure in my head with a flourish and no small amount of ABBA.

By Stephen Harlan on Unsplash

That Pride Feeling

After going to more LGBT+ events, I soon discovered that the effect they had on me was unchanging. When I was there, I would be carried on the backs of LGBT+ people who came before me. They took me to a place of self-love and acceptance.

Yet, when I left, the feeling didn't remain. I would return to my normal life and soon enough, my old patterns of critical self-examination would reoccur.

At first, I assumed it was merely the sad 'drop' that accompanies a post-party feeling. However, at some point (I cannot say when), I turned a corner and began trying to replicate the pride feeling on my own time. Starting with a little pride flag...

By Cecilie Johnsen on Unsplash

Bringing Pride Home

I was at Oxford Pride (UK) as a much more confident teenager when I decided to bring something home with me. I used to be very careful about what I brought home from LGBT+ events before this. If by chance, I did manage to pick something up (a leaflet perhaps), I would dispose of it on the way home.

This time was different, I was adamant that the pride feeling was coming home with me in some shape or form. When I saw the stand selling pride flags, I knew it was the perfect way to start. I politely asked for the smallest one available.

I remember feeling like a naughty child when I brought it home. Buried in the bottom of my rucksack like a hushed secret. I placed it on a shelf in my bedroom so it hung over my bed. Whenever the bright rainbow caught my eye, I felt a small spark of pride for myself.

A/N: I still have it actually, it sits on my desk where it reminds me to keep pride in my heart every day.

By Yoav Hornung on Unsplash

Keeping Pride as an Adult

While the flag was a way to start bringing some rainbow pride back home with me and still serves as a useful reminder, the feeling I was trying to replicate was one I needed to forge from inside. No person, no event, could give me true pride, only I could do that.

Pride was presented to me as a deadly sin when I was young. So, the journey of self-pride was a difficult one. It took time, heartache, and confrontation with myself to get to a point of self-acceptance. A process that I documented here. I then used that as a springboard to reach self-pride.

But, the flag was a good start!

If I were to offer any advice to someone reading this micro-nonfiction, looking to find their own sense of pride, I would say this:

Start slow, you will get there. Don't force that feeling - wait for it to come to you over time. Being proud of who you are is not a sin.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N: Hi there! I hope you enjoyed this drabble! I enjoyed writing it!

If you would like to hear about more of my stories and drabbles, give me a follow here or on Twitter

If you would like to support me as a writer, please comment, share insights, tip or share!

Thank You,

ThatWriterWoman

AdvocacyCultureEmpowermentHumanityIdentityPride MonthCommunity
Like

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.