Pride logo

An Open Letter to a Drag Queen

You'll never know how much you mean to me

By ThatWriterWomanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

Dear Drag Queen,

I hope you are well, whoever you are. There's nothing more important than keeping well these days!

I should probably explain where I know you from. In short, I saw you perform at Oxford Pride 2010. Gosh, it really doesn't seem like 12 years have passed since!

When I last saw you, you were squeezed into a silver cocktail dress in a short blonde wig - strutting across a stage which you claimed as your own as soon as you appeared from behind rainbow streamers. Stomping over to the microphone in six-inch heels, made from the finest white plastic, you began to sing in a gorgeous baritone. The voice rumbled through two quite small speakers but reached across the field where I was stood amongst the stalls.

A large crowd was there that day and, as an 11-year-old Catholic, I was quite overwhelmed. I was there with two friends, but they had been raised in a far less religious way than I was. They took to the atmosphere of Pride easily, while I struggled to shake the feeling that it was somehow a sin to be there. So I did the easiest thing and picked your voice out from the crowd, focussing on it to calm myself. You truly do have a gorgeous voice. It felt like a vocal hug.

I think the highlight of your performance was your unique take on 'Dancing Queen' by ABBA. Flanked by two shirtless men covered in body glitter, you belted notes out. Notes, I will say, that were slightly out of your range! Not that anyone minded, you were having too much fun!

What made you a unique experience is that, out of everything at Pride, you seemed the most comforting, almost motherly. Drag was a completely new concept to me back then, one that made me uncomfortable as, again, it was sinning in the eyes of some of my peers. I can honestly say that your performance was the chisel that charged through the beliefs instilled in me by others, revealing my true feelings towards myself and others. A lot of key experiences happen when we are young that go on to shape our adulthood. Without seeing you, my dear drag queen, I think I could have ended up a repressed and close-minded adult, with little appreciation of authenticity. For that, I thank you deeply.

It does seem slightly strange to associate drag with authenticity as drag itself involves a lot of fake padding, make-up, and no small amount of dressing up! However, I feel there is authenticity in making your own presentation of self. This can be through choosing jeans over dresses, wearing lipstick, and/or styling your hair in the way you want, to name a few. No matter how outrageous your drag personality, it always comes from a part of the person playing it. This part usually displays femininity, a cheeky camp-ness, and a slightly naughty flirtation! All parts which, traditionally, men are told to repress. In expressing them so openly on stage, I felt the hidden parts of myself start to stir and rattle against the cage I had encased them in, wanting to come out and dance with you.

Nowadays, it has been a long time since I caged any part of myself which, again, I owe to you I believe. I express gender fluidity in the way I dress as, on some days, I wish to be more masculine than feminine. I had noticed a problem when I realised a lot of my clothes looked the same. It turned out I was buying a safe 'middle ground' of clothing which involved lots of dark colours with the occasional bright t-shirt. This was an attempt at feeling comfortable on both feminine and masculine days. Nowadays, my wardrobe is filled with colour and contains uniquely masculine and feminine pieces which I can wear depending on how I feel that day. In addition to this, I identify as a lesbian, a conclusion which could have taken me many more years to become comfortable with without your influence. Indeed, I am not only comfortable with who I am, but I celebrate it! You gave me pride.

While you only entered my life for a few hours, you represent a starting line for my journey of self-discovery. I think of you often, with emphasis on your stage presence. I try to carry as much of that confidence into my own life as possible. Naturally, you nurtured a love of ABBA music which cannot be tamed. For all of this, I thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Keep Dancing,

Kate

ThatWriterWoman

Identity
2

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.