Poets logo

You

For the Smooth Challenge

By The Invisible WriterPublished 6 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
33
You
Photo by zelle duda on Unsplash

I could drown inside

the ocean flowing

along the curves and swells

painted across your shorelines

taste the saltwater of your skin,

slip below your smooth surface

and never come up for

Air

~

Swim in the

pleasure laced with pain

floating from your nails

pressing hard

against my skin

still the water

with the sound

of your breath catching

dive into each one of the red lines

running from my shoulders

Down the smooth arch of my back

~

Watch your curled

strands of hair

brown streaked with blonde

fall in a waterfall

over my hungry, waiting eyes

let you unravel me

in a forest

of dirty blonde vines

dancing in smooth

moonlight

Above my beating heart

~

Lose all sense of time

in the electric charge

lighting the air

between us

say I love you

without saying a word

feel my soul

collide with yours

hear the waves crash

every time

your smooth lips

Touch mine

~

Forget every truth

other than the spell

your heart has

cast on mine

take my arms away

from the lifeboat

i've been

holding on to,

sink down inside

your smooth sea

go all the way to the

Bottom and just stay

~

Feel the tide rushing

in the sway of your hips

touch heaven

in the sound of my name

slipping from your lips

disappear in the wind and rain

of your fingers getting

tangled in the sheets

never let go, of the feeling

swirling around this room

lose everything I know

in the smooth afterglow

of you

Next to me

~

Pick all the petals

from a flower

love me,

love me not

leave only a naked stem

on the smooth ground

walk away, and

think it doesn't matter

which the last was

i'm gonna love you,

Anyway

love poems
33

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)3 months ago

    Beautiful and amazing!

  • This was amazing... well deserving of Top Story! I loved the flower petals & the "Love me, love me not" tie in with the ending... "i'm gonna love you, Anyway" Beautiful, thanks.

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    FABULOUS!

  • Atomic Historian5 months ago

    Lovely. Also, I swear this is the third time I've subscribed to you

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Sensory rich! Those are the best kind of poems. Only a few seconds to take me on the journey of a reading lifetime. Thank you so much!

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    A beautiful poem I love the sense of language and imagery you wove into your poem.

  • Ghulam Fayyaz6 months ago

    Lose all sense of time...... oh my God this lines made my day and i just dive into past ...............

  • Test6 months ago

    Delicately beautiful. This was so immersive. Stunning how you made love, nature. Always will be. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    Very sensual. I loved all the nature imagery to show the immensity of the experience as well as the immersiveness (made-up word?) Of losing yourself with someone.

  • Muhammad Shaheer6 months ago

    Excellent expression regarding loving

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story!!! This was such a great piece of yours and I love that you are getting some recognition for it!! Congrats my friend!! ๐Ÿ˜

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story!!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Wow Will, this was breathtaking!! I felt swept away with the tempo and feel of the piece, your use of imagery was brilliant and hypnotic! Beautiful work here!!

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    Poetry in motion...literally! Excellent entry!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Excellent piece. Very charming and soothing.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Brilliantly and beautifully written!!! Sensually smooth loving your love poem!!!๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธโค๏ธ

  • A wonderful poem and great challenge entry

  • Ooooo, this was so hot and romantic! So smoothly excellent! Loved your poem!

  • Couldn't we all? Just reading your words makes me think so.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Oh wow. This is incredible. I need a cold shower, and a hug. Excellent piece.

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Woah. Will. This isโ€ฆmagical. What a gorgeous and ๐Ÿ”ฅ piece! Goodness. Just beautiful! Absolutely LOVE this entry! ๐Ÿ’ซ๐Ÿ’ž

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Hi-i ~ I could never quite make it to the last 'Petal' ~ 'j'

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Sumptuous

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Beautifully romantic, Will

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.