Poets logo

Willow Tree's Gentle Love and Grace

A poem about the motherly love of the weeping willow tree

By Bridget VaughnPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Willow Tree's Gentle Love and Grace
Photo by Jannic Böhme on Unsplash

Weeping willow tree

How you comfort me

When I’ve been gone too long

Going places I don’t belong

A hundred times a fresh start

Not listening to my heart

Been going and going

Wherever the wind is blowing

Aimlessly I’d roam

But now I am home

Under your quiet secret drapes

The song of my heart takes shape

Swaying me in your arms

I soften and disarm

Thin delicate branches and ground-grazing leaves

Under your elegant canopy

You hold and comfort me

Your warm embrace I seek

Your wispy vines kiss my cheek

Tender, like I am your daughter

Always leading me to water

Herewith you I discover

Love like a mother

You look after me

Watchful weeping willow tree

Throughout my life, there you’ve been

Patient warm gentle friend

Never breaking, you would always bend

There was no pain you could not mend

But why is it you weep?

Is it all the secrets you keep

Or because your roots are so deep

Your empathy sings a song

To a world gone wrong

With your beautiful drapes and your healing ways

You hold the space for a brighter day

Under the green leaves that glisten

You hold me and listen

You dry my tears

You calm my fears

So tender and fair

You transform my despair

A smile spreads my face

Where would I be without your grace

In this sacred holy place

Where time is erased

Under the canopy

You provide for me

Safety and security

Virtue and purity

Revitalized, reassured

Perception unobscured

Restoring the years of swarming locusts

Aware, relaxed, and focused

Against your dark stout trunk, I lean

Peaceful and serene

For you wash away my sorrow

You give me hope for a new tomorrow

Resilient loving gentle grace

You give me strength to keep the pace

Dearest weeping willow tree

You couldn’t possibly know how much you mean to me

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bridget Vaughn

Bridget Vaughn is a Freelance Writer and a Yoga Teacher with a passion for creating meaningful heartfelt content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.