Poets logo

Dear Soul

A poem about purpose & getting where you are going

By Bridget VaughnPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Dear Soul
Photo by Rui Silvestre on Unsplash

Dear Soul

Where is it you want to go

For this box, you will soon outgrow

Of blustery winters

And deep damp snow

For somewhere

The sun must shine

The light of the divine

I will waken in a home which is mine

Living life by my design

No longer wasting time

Trying to find

The right motivation

The permanent vacation

Engaged in communication

Of a higher vibration

No longer seeking validation

Somewhere I can just be me

On a shore near the sea

Swaying in a hammock in a tree

In love

And feeling free

Dear soul

How I long to know

What is your goal

And what is my role

When will I feel whole

When I leave the yard?

To live with a higher regard

And discard

This circus

To seek meaning

And purpose

Be of service

A messenger of love

Carrier of the dove

That sings of peace

For it is time to release

The weight of the unholy

I am getting to know me

Better and better

Free from the fetter

Of old times past

Feeling like an outcast

Where nothing lasts

I see a new forecast

Of brighter days

New ways

Displays

Of the soul

Whom I long to know

And will follow

Through the dreary hollow

Out of the dark

And into the light

Freedom is within my sight

A life lived right

Where spirit ignites

That is the soul’s delight

Taking care of my own

Independent, grown

A seed well sewn

But I didn’t do it alone

Spirit walked me there

Quiet, humble, and fair

Courage granted

For what I wouldn’t dare

Into the eyes of life, I’d stare

To make it away

From the comfort, I had known

To awake to a new day

In the world which I belong

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Bridget Vaughn

Bridget Vaughn is a Freelance Writer and a Yoga Teacher with a passion for creating meaningful heartfelt content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.