Poets logo

Why?

I can't comprehend

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Created with CanvaPro

~

You're not here today.

The sirens, the police, the news,

they all say what I can't comprehend.

I just can't.

I don't understand.

How you went from being

full of life and love,

in awe of the wonder of each new day,

filling me up

til my cup was spilling over

with the indescribable

joy of being a part of your life,

your safe haven, your mom,

to nothing.

A void, an open chasm

in my chest where my heart used to beat.

I'm filled with numbing rage

that the world keeps turning

and people keep living,

but you're gone.

How do they go on

knowing your sweet smile

will never return?

How do I breathe

without the feel of your

little arms squeezing me

tight as I kiss you good night?

It confounds me.

Because you were taken,

your light snuffed out

by anger and pain

and a small chunk of metal.

You were there and now you're not.

I don't know how to go on

without you.

My lungs are heavy.

My limbs are numb.

My head is angry.

My heart stopped beating along with yours,

and only one word repeats like a mantra,

pounding through my skull–

why?

____________________________________________________

This is dedicated to the tragic loss of so many beautiful souls snuffed out by mass shootings. Everytime I see these tragedies unfold, my heart breaks. I try to put myself in their shoes, those that are left to pick up the pieces and go on, and it's unbearable to me. I hope I never have to find out. Sending love out to the world. ~H

social commentarysad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=my life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy Babs Brin

Gina Grz KJ CH Kelli

BrentonF Paul Dean Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (29)

  • Testabout a year ago

    So beautifully expressed, Heather. Heartbreaking and so true 💕🙂

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    Beautiful, heartbreaking testament, Heather. <3

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    Why, indeed... So very heartbreaking beyond words.

  • Jess Boyesabout a year ago

    Wow! This is an emotional and intense piece that’s beautifully written. Well done ❤️

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    💕😔

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    WOW! There is so much truth in the emotions released by your words. When will our leaders gain the courage needed to do the right thing. It breaks my heart every time this happens.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very relatable, cause it’s all was an illusion 🥹🙁

  • D-Donohoeabout a year ago

    Very powerful Heather. Heavy but necessary.

  • Send hugs and support, feel with you

  • I will never be able to understand the need for violence or war especially against the innocent. Animals tend to have more humanities than humans. Thank you for writing this poem my dear friend 🥺❤️

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    Beautifully written about a terrible constant. Sadly a constant. When will this stop being such a constant.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    As a society, we are now numb to this violence. So long as people keep thinking "it won't happen to my kid" we can pretend that all is well. As cruel as it is to say, until an NRA board member loses their kid to gun violence/school shootings, there won't be substantial change.

  • This one hit close to home. We lost our son at the age of 18.5, not to gun violence or school shootings, but to a car accident. My wife & I will never forget that evening when the two highway patrol officers arrived at our door but would not speak to her until we were both there together. I am glad that you have not gone through such an experience yourself. While it is good to have someone who can accompany you in their grief (& you in theirs), not a one of us would wish that anyone else should have to join our fraternity/sorority. Thank you for your sensitivity. I have to admit that you have imagined our thoughts & feelings with a great deal of accuracy. Blessings to you.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh my. This took my breath away. These tragedies are felt nationwide and you put this perfectly into words. You are so gifted. This definitely brought a tear to my eye. 🥺 Amazing job.

  • Leesa Stowabout a year ago

    Wow!! So emotional. So sad 😢

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    This kind of violence is so hard to comprehend. Even more baffling our country’s apparent acceptance of these events and unwillingness to compromise about limiting access to guns. The worst case scenario has happened over and over and over and I just don’t get it. Thank you for writing this. It is important to face these things and to ponder why.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    😭Thank you so much for this… it expresses so well the fears in our hearts. I’ve been stuck in a fog since hearing about this 😞

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Bang and boom to my heart, and this is just...well. I hate that I go poetic analyst on things but...man...sad, beautiful, angry, but still poetic. I know it's relatable, and you penned it so masterfully. Just...yeah...time to stop mumbling.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Perfect, my friend.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    so many Y’s, what if’s, we should’ve, yet hearts ache within we who don’t comprehend, very sad yet beautiful tribute my friend 🥲

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Beautiful words Heather. Thank you for writing it. Someone posted the meme that said the world would be better if people listened to poets more than the politicians. ❤️

  • ❤️

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    A heart-wrenching, but honorable tribute. 💕

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Well, now I'm sobbing. Feels like no words could express that pain, but you did a masterful job expressing emotions that no one should have to go through. Great job translating that pain into poetry!

  • Adam Stanbridgeabout a year ago

    A tragic but well-written poem. I hope none ever have to feel what you describe.

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.