Poets logo

numb

standing still

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Top Story - March 2023
98
Created with CanvaPro

sometimes i feel numb to it all.

i see life whirring by

in moving pictures,

scenes zipping past.

everything's a blur

while i'm standing still

in the middle...

and i feel nothing.

the colors are muted,

the sounds–muffled and choked.

all the good stuff has fallen

out of frame.

i can't move,

or i don't want to.

not sure i can tell the difference.

no one seems to notice

that i've stopped.

that i can't keep up.

i stand there silently screaming,

hoping someone hears me,

but no words come out.

it's like i've gone mute

and the world is deaf.

i'm not in focus,

just a blip on the peripherals

as life speeds along.

would anyone recognize the signs

of a life slowly fading?

i'm still smiling, laughing,

playing the chauffeur,

doing the laundry,

the shopping, the dishes,

making meals and donations,

going to doctor's appointments,

picking up meds, paying bills,

and running and running and running, etc.

life feels like one big et cetera.

my technicolor's fading from the inside out.

the hues are sun-bleached from age and abuse,

in shades of sepia and gray.

they dig into my skin

as the numbness bruises.

but i paint over all the ugly

leaving haphazard brush strokes,

one, two, three...twenty coats.

like new, i pretend,

but the damage shows.

no one sees it though.

no one takes the time to look.

all the people flashing along

in their own lives

never suspecting a thing,

while i'm standing still,

a pale imitation gone numb.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading!

If you liked my words, please consider subscribing (it's free)!

Here is another poem if you'd like to take a look, written for my 100th Vocal story in honor of Women's History Month:

~

And another poem dedicated to my late grandmother :)

sad poetry
98

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (60)

Sign in to comment
  • Audrey Heitzabout a year ago

    Ohhh....you touched my heart with your words. 🥺 Beautifully written, Heather. I want to be more aware of how people are REALLY feeling and hope and pray I'll be "there" for them. Such an important subject. Thank you.

  • Testabout a year ago

    You capture the current human condition very well. "When will it slow down so I can get off and be who I truly am?" I often wonder. And I wonder if others wonder. Nice poem, Heather - Anneliese:)

  • Talia Devoraabout a year ago

    Nicely penned! As someone who struggles with mental illness and autism, this poem is relatable to me. Please check out an excerpt for my first poetry book, which was published last year! https://vocal.media/poets/excerpt-from-up-and-down-the-ladder

  • Atomic Historianabout a year ago

    Thank you. It's like you somehow reached inside of me, and pulled out everything I've felt since November

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Like trying to run in quicksand and not even raising a pulse! We are legion!

  • Shannon Loewenabout a year ago

    Beautifully written. I found myself relating to a lot of it. Thank you for sharing <3

  • Reviewsabout a year ago

    Comfortably Numb!

  • Muhammad Naveedabout a year ago

    wow so beautiful here is my first on Vocal https://vocal.media/poets/sensual-sway

  • Hannahabout a year ago

    This poem conveys a powerful message about the importance of recognizing and addressing our own mental health needs. It speaks to the experience of feeling lost and alone, even while surrounded by the demands of daily life. Through its vivid imagery and sensory language, the poem encourages us to take a step back, to slow down and prioritize our own well-being, even when it feels like the world won't stop spinning.

  • Megabout a year ago

    Great poem! Congrats on top story!

  • The Dani Writerabout a year ago

    That line, "Life feels like one big et cetera." Nailed it! A masterful translation of overwhelming experience of many transmuted into poetic form. Top Story and Life Story. Well done!

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Good one! Thanks for sharing Heather. 😊

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    I see you...I hear you... babygurl. A beautifully penned piece. Hoping & Praying that things brighten around your way very very soon. Sending a hug your way!🙏🏾Congrats on your Top Story my friend!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    So relatable. Love this line, " my technicolor is fading from inside our." Expresses so many emotions right there. ♥️ Well done! Congratulations on your top story.♥️

  • Compassion ✨❤️💯😉Congratulations Heather🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    Nicely done 👌. Congratulations for the top story.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • top7best7about a year ago

    Thanks, I enjoyed reading the most beautiful poem, it made me feel the numbness of life

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    Congrats on top story! ❤️ also this line hit me a lot!“i stand there silently screaming, hoping someone hears me, but no words come out. it's like i've gone mute”

  • Rene Petersabout a year ago

    I love the story! Also, congrats on your top story! As I'm sitting here, in that place, it makes me feel slightly less alone. Thank you for that.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!!!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Loved reading this again! Congrats on top story- so deserved!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    and there she goes again. Congrats on the well deserved TS, my friend.

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    Congratulations, on another amazing Top Story, Heather! I read it again, and it's just as impactful ❤️

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Congrats on Top Story! I really enjoyed this piece the first time I read it, so I liked this reminder and chance to revisit. You expressed these feelings so well!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.