Poets logo

Who is me?

my "self" lost in the void, I can no longer tell who is me and who is the alter I created

By A. NguyenPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Like
Who is me?
Photo by Vladimir Fedotov on Unsplash

Why is it that I feel the most whole

When I have nothing left, in shambles

And that is when I recognize her.

The monster trained to smile, nod,

Give the sweet answers, taking everything

thrown her way. So good at being the

“Good girl” that the thin layer between

Acting and reality blur together, leaving confusion.

What was the truth and what was skill?

Even she no longer understood where one

ended and the other began. “Smile.

If you do it long enough maybe it will be true.”

And yet every time I face the mirror

with a practiced pull at my lips,

my eyes connect with hers in the reflection

only to be greeted with voids.

No emotion, no warmth, just cold.

A feeling that poisons my veins, my brain

Falling victim to contempt.

The monster wins again, I guess

That “maybe” won’t be today.

surreal poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.