Poets logo

Let me go

Use me as a stepping stone, not a companion on this journey of life

By A. NguyenPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Like
Let me go
Photo by Rifky Nur Setyadi on Unsplash

Where do we go from here?

What can you do with a corpse that is barely living?

How do you tell someone to abandon you,

simply because you aren’t worth it?

I am not worth the tears and the heartache,

the frustration and the anger.

Don’t try to convince yourself that I’m worth saving

because I’m not. Not after all the suffering

I’ve already caused you, both by my own hands

and through a domino effect pushed by my actions.

.

My outburst of empowerment and self-love balance

on the fact that to me it’s not serious. I say that

“No one can hurt me with words when I’ve already

told the worst of them to myself.” Teetering on the edge,

all it takes is one motion. It's nothing new

to the insanity that festers in my mind, everything

stemming from self-loathing… I hate myself

But I don’t understand why you don’t.

.

Desperately, I hope that you’ll see it too.

Just cast me aside and be rid of this parasite.

Maybe then I can say that I’ve done something good.

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.