Poets logo

Tangled Thoughts

No matter how many years pass my mind still catches the the same thoughts in its webs.

By A. NguyenPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like
Tangled Thoughts
Photo by Ridham Parikh on Unsplash

Abandon me.

Throw me away and stop caring.

Endless cycle of halfhearted feelings

deepens the barren wasteland

inside my chest.

Love is a dream; something

I cannot attain being myself

nor playing the part others orchestrate.

Simple, safe, warm. Those are what

I desired from the abstract emotion.

Was it too much? Not enough?

Do I deserve such a feeling?

Tired, drained. Feelings that seem

ingrained into my being... When

was the last time this weight rested

anywhere but me? Smile though,

others' problems outweigh your own.

Like a clown, paint on the expression

and put on the show. That is what's expected.

Constantly at the end of the line,

propelling others forward, and yet

no one thinks to grab this hand

outstretched. A desperate plea

masked as an encouraging push.

Eyes avert and ears tune out because

I will always hold second place, to anyone

and to everyone. Myself especially.

Love will find me when I am able

to place myself first and finally believe

that I deserve love, unconditional

without having to prove my worth.

That is my wish, although

it feels like a pipe dream.

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.