Poets logo

My Sun

I'm not strong enough to beat the gravity between you two... but at least I tried.

By A. NguyenPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1

My sweltering star blazing

with passion, steadfast and constant,

as you love with your whole being

rather than simply your heart.

Although you radiated warmth

that gently kissed one's skin,

people avoided you in fear

of being scorched by your being.

☀︎

Yet in this lonely solar system

your only solace was imagining her

chilling touch. His moon. An ethereal

entity adorned by delicate frost

that covered the scars of her craters.

He couldn't escape the pull of her gravity.

New, crescent, quarter, gibbous, full

ever changing yet he still adored

all of her phases.

And there I stood, at the edge,

flickering silently beside him.

One step, a final desperate attempt,

and I fell just like I fell for you.

Fast, abrupt, soundless... like a falling star.

A blink-and-you-miss-it occurrence,

quite the fitting analogy for the truth.

Sparing me a glance in that moment

only for the moon to captivate you again.

Those weightless moments caught

between your side and the ground,

were spent enjoying your fleeting heat.

Goodbye my sun.

Ah. Was that the shattering

of the earth... or my heart?

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.