Poets logo

Ode to the Unnamed

From Child Abuse to Child Predator

By VNessa ErlenePublished 12 days ago 2 min read
3
Ode to the Unnamed
Photo by Artyom Kabajev on Unsplash

In the calm of the morning in a mountain town

The bus driver is telling a child to calm down.

How can he know the trauma this child has endured

How can they know that his future is secured

A future of pain and distortions

A future of no gain and no fair portion

I watched this little boy grow into a man

I watched as his mother held his hand

I know what she knew

I know that she didn't know what to do

I know a lot of things that no one else knew

To say this man's childhood was cruel would be a lie

His childhood was a nightmare up from hell

He survived this hell, and something went awry

Years of abuse from his father

and nine months of an alcohol bath from his mother

Lead to the facts I am about to uncover.

There was a time when I was his number-one fan

I would fight for him and always take a stand

Then, one day, I saw through the veil

Then, one day, my heart down into hell fell

I could no longer ignore what I knew, but where to stand?

I choose the easy path out of ignorance and youth

I choose to say nothing because of words so uncouth

I removed myself from his presence forever

But there were rumors of him becoming so clever

Why would I wait for him to harm a child?

Why did I say nothing as his indiscretions piled?

My initial outrage led to a police report

So his behavior I did not support!

Or did I?

When the police did nothing

When his mother came cussing

I stopped and retreated into my shell

Choosing to leave him to his hell.

After all, my child was safe.

She had escaped from his unwanted touch

For this, I was thankful and had to have faith

I had to believe that my decision was enough

I had to think that for me and mine, there was no wathe.

Many years later, my conscience is calling my bluff.

I could have spoken up more than once

I could have ensured that he got the help he needed.

But into my safety, I retreated.

I will never say the words that I could not renounce.

I would be harassed and scorned

Had I tried to go to the people and warn.

They were not ready to hear

Any bad news about this man they held dear.

He remained the fragile favorite.

And I remained silent in my knowledge

As I watched single women let him babysit

In parks waiting for children, he would patiently sit

He was banned from many of the churches

However, he would frequent events in his searches

Now I have only questions

How could I have been so apathetic?

How could his mother only be apologetic?

How could the entire community look the other way?

Will we look back and say, 'On that fatal day'?

I now regret all the things I did not say.

social commentaryOdeMental HealthCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

VNessa Erlene

A Ph.D. student and Celtic Priestess who is an explorer of knowledge, spirituality, and political incorrectness. Your voice and knowledge is your power!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani11 days ago

    A lot of feelings and pent-up emotions in this one, I felt. Very well written poem.

  • Amazing poem! Very intense and sad! Well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.