Poets logo

Who Am I?

Autobiographical Poem

By Dalton “Statz” ClinePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Every poet does it.....so why can't i??
Who am I?
Funny question
Sometimes even I
don't know.
There are many ways,
that I can go.
My brain has acquired so much.
some may say I'm blessed
they don't know it's rough
when info bleeds out stress
pointing me here
pointing me there
pointing me anywhere
So needless to say,
questions like "Who am I?"
are loaded questions
needing clarification.
My mind is the pilot,
on this jet.
And that can be a good thing.
Though the true reality
its not necessarily,
a good thing--to have your mind as the king
Because when your mind starts drifting
it can start leading--to all of the doubting
Start questioning yourself like...
Who Am I?
Who am I?
okay okay okay
I know y'all are still wondering
when is this fool gonna answer the question
Who Am I?
Honestly, I don't know how to express this...
Who am I?
Who am I?
I'm a recovering addict
And a schooled theologian
I thought I should mention
that even I--was battling my demons
Two different me
two different stories
Just wanted everybody to accept me
And when most rejected me
the question still remained inside of me
Who am I?
Who am I?
I know it's a foggy picture
Still I recognize I am supposed to be a leader
Turn my tests and my messes
Into testimonies and messages
Pointing people to the right path
So they can have good karma
And won't see any wrath
Haha, funny question
Who am I?
Well, I realize
I can be a guy--
who helps others in life
With the words that I write,
I can encourage a fight
and save a life
Who Am I?
Who am I?
I'm just another poet
Expressing positivity
In word form.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Dalton “Statz” Cline

What’s up everybody? This is Statz. I am a spiritually-influenced conscious hip hop artist/spoken word artist. With this platform, I will provide lyrics to my songs and poems. Check me out! You’ll definitely enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.