Poets logo

Whirlwind

The Story of Us

By Lea D.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
flowers from my love

There is only one way to describe how I have gotten to know my love...

There is only one word that I can think of to describe what it has been like to learn his habits, his preferences, his personality...

The way he makes me feel...

How he took someone as broken as myself, and for the first time in my life... felt some kind of

peace, bliss, happiness...

It truly has been a whirlwind romance as cliche as it sounds. He and I have hit a couple bumps along the way. Spent a couple nights of me sobbing and him holding me while we sat on the

bathroom floor figuring out our shit. A few car rides where all I could do was think of how the hell did I get so lucky to have met him. Just moment by moment of realizing that when I lose him, I know it will break my heart. But I would rather spend the time that I have with him now, than spend it alone without him.

His dark black curly hair always makes me think of Superman the way that one curl falls perfectly in place every time. His sharp jawline and perfectly carved out features make me wonder how on earth he would want me. His deep smooth voice, like listening to an announcer, chosen purely to capture the attention of anyone within earshot. Tracing his tattoos and that one long scar on his left arm with my small delicate fingers. He always seems so much bigger than I am when he stands behind me in front of a mirror. Reminding me that I am still just a petite thing in the presence of someone I never imagined would choose me.

His big brown eyes make me melt every time he looks at me. The moment he pulls me close, squeezed tight in his arms, the room fills with my giggling when he gives me bear hugs. His laugh, his smile, the way he says my name...

From the very first night we met I knew he would be the end of me. Not once in all the time we have known each other have we had one awkward moment. From the moment we met it was an immediate connection that neither of us could explain. It feels like we have known each other for years, when in reality it has only been a few months.

Some might say we rushed into things, instead of taking it slow we sprinted. But when you find something so real and so strong, you can’t just let it slowly drag on. After a lifetime of never

feeling safe, always looking over my shoulder, I had finally found someone who made me feel truly safe.

The way my hand fit so perfectly in his, the way our lips met, the way I melted into him as if we had always been this way. Staying up until four in the morning for a week straight getting to know everything and anything about each other. He is unlike any man I have ever met.

The way he respected my boundaries from the beginning. How patient he has been on the nights that all I can seem to do is cry. Despite my trauma he never once ran and hid. He still holds me every time I cry, he still wipes away my tears, he still takes away every single one of my fears. He is my peace.

He is my safety.

He is my warmth.

He is my whirlwind.

But he is not mine to keep.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lea D.

21 fresh and full of ideas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.