Poets logo

Where are They?

vOcAl AnXieTy

By Dana CrandellPublished about a month ago β€’ 1 min read
23
Where are They?
Photo by Diane Picchiottino on Unsplash

The numbers...

The numbers have dropped again.

I am losing them!

*

My

exposed

heart

bled from the keys to the page.

I drained it all.

*

They came.

Friends with accolades, encouragement.

I believed.

*

Platitudes!

Pretty words,

injected

into

the

ether!

No breath wasted.

*

NO!

I felt the sincerity!

It

r

i

p

p

l

e

d.

*

Or, perhaps

I simply convinced myself -

failed myself...

*

It's ME!

I've fucked it all up,

but how?

*

Dig deeper!

I must find the right words!

They will come again

...Won't they?

***

Written for R.M. Stockson's unofficial March Madness Challenge.

Check it out here:

humorFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
23

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • π‘πŒ π’π­π¨πœπ€π­π¨π§23 days ago

    Right?! And yet, here I am 12 freaking days later showing up to read and comment! (Sorry -- work has been trying to kill me, I am certain!) I think we have all experienced this feeling you describe -- more than once. You pour out your heart. You bare your soul. You put your best foot forward. And then you wait. Sometimes, they come. And sometimes, you wonder if you are doing all of this just for yourself. Dana, the reality is that your writing inspires so many of us. Even when we do not tell you in so many words. Nicely done!

  • Kristen Balyeat26 days ago

    Definitely feel this from time to time. Those voices can get loud! Keep up your brilliant work, friend, it’s always a pleasure to read your beautiful words! πŸ’«πŸ’•βœ¨

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    Some are just fed up with the goings on here. I am sometimes. Some are disappearing for extended time, it is up and down and can get depressing. Just bear with us and soldier on. We all feel that way sometimes. It is madness, but we got you.

  • Sian N. Cluttonabout a month ago

    Loved this poem. I think we must all have felt like this at one point or another. Don't stress. If you build it, they will come. ❀️

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    If they don't come, hunt them down and kill them. I mean, what's the point of people being alive when they don't read our stuff. It's such a waste. Instead of planting more trees, has anyone thought about eliminating humans? No? Only me? How about you Dana? You won't leave me alone in this right? Right?????

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Dana, you're still one of my favs!

  • We're still here, Dana. The real world may throw up road blocks now & again, but we're still here. And yeah, I feel ya.

  • Real Poeticabout a month ago

    I took a little break from Vocal for personal reasons and to work on my entry for a vocal challenge. I loved this poem so much, Dana. It was so honest. Beautifully written as always. ❀️

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    It's on a downside for all of us, it seems. You're definitely not alone. Just yesterday, I submitted a piece I didn't really like (the cheezies one) because I was sick of having no reads. Lol I hear ya, my friend. This is great by the way. I love the formatting. Well done

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fantastic and loved this!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • L.C. SchΓ€ferabout a month ago

    Right here, champ!

  • Judey Kalchik about a month ago

    (I think those are Ted Bundy’s eyes) I’m there with you. Sometimes being with someone in the aloneness helps

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Ach...feel this so much, sir. I love the raw unfiltered honesty of this and putting your heart where you always have. I have had similar feelings...and similar feelings about not being so present on the leaderboard and for TSs. This is a powerful entry. I, know you know this, but I've never given you platitudes! :)

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    The love seems to wax and wane, indeed. RIde it out. Cream rises.

  • Matthew Frommabout a month ago

    This was a great one that touched a nerve with the collective vocal creator hive mind. Well done

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Very very nice! Loved the formatting techniques throughout, but especially for β€œrippled”! I haven’t been active on Vocal long but I’ve definitely been swept up into the madness and frenzied feel of things at times. It’s easy to say I write and share because I love it but those stats, comments, and banners hold their sway even if I pretend they don’t

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I think I appear to be coming down the other side of a peak in terms of others reading my stuff too. Folk falling away. Is there a collective waning?

  • Heather Hublerabout a month ago

    Damn that negative percent change on stats!! Drives me nuts. So easy to identify with this one. Well said, big bro!

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    LOL Feel like this daily. My stats are crap and think I'm shit but hey, write the good life, whatever the numbers say, you're a brilliant writer 🀍

  • Catherine Nyomendaabout a month ago

    Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.