Poets logo

When she was mine

Through a looking glass

By Tara Bryant {A. Pierce}Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You cant see it, but its there. The ambivalence in her stare. Her hesitation so subtle and not easily seen but while shes kissing him, shes thinking of me.

How do i know, why do i care.? Because i give that same stare. She should be mine, shes filling the time but so am I. I see the smile, hear the laughs, yeah i should have that

You’d never know seeing the day to day. But everything changed sometime late in may.

I know how lonely she gets, I hate that I took it so far. The cost was great and now I no longer hold the pieces of her heart.

When I’m close I feel her put up that guard. The one I use to just walk through. So much damage I dont even know where to start, but now I’m watching someone else fill my part.

Promises were made to tell no more lies but the truth she knew I seen it in her eyes. Regrets are haunting and often i flash back.

Her laugh while my head lies in her lap. The expression when she was troubled, her eyes would have an amber hue that's how i always knew. We read eachothers books so many times. We knew every line, back when she use to be mine.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Tara Bryant {A. Pierce}

writing has always been my way of expressing the things i struggle to talk about. Some times the mind goes to dark places but those dark places can be turned into something extraordinarily beautiful too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.