Poets logo

When Darkness Falls

Villanelle Challenge Entry

By Paul StewartPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
12
When Darkness Falls
Photo by kilarov zaneit on Unsplash

When darkness falls and your sins you recall

the paralysis can leave you feeling captive

and it's hard to find joy in anything at all

*

You can fight it, hold it off and make it stall

Until you have nothing left really to give

when darkness falls and your sins you recall

*

The dead of the night, can make you feel small

When you can't see tomorrow, death's attractive

and it's hard to find joy in anything at all

*

The voices in your head celebrate your fall

The worthiness of your life feels subjective

when darkness falls and your sins you recall

*

Even when morning comes at the dawn chorus call

Your past mistakes can feel too hard to forgive

and it's hard to find joy in anything at all

*

You need to make a choice, to stand up tall

Face the day and decide you are going to live

When darkness falls and your sins you recall

and it's hard to find joy in anything at all

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: First attempt at a Villanelle ever. I am not the biggest fan of strict rules, as you probably know, when it comes to writing and poetry. Unless they are rules I have invented, haha! Anyway...this was trickier than I thought it might be.

Still not sure about it. But...it's not my last attempt at a Villanelle either.

fact or fictionsocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreak
12

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Peas in a pod, the two of us.

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    Excellent entry!! You managed to make it seem effortless despite the restrictions. ‘When you can't see tomorrow, death's attractive’ was especially evocative. As always, well done!!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    This one (the first one) honestly reads much better than the jokey hell one! I still don’t really know the structure but I’m slowly cottoning on. Excellent theme, message, pace and rhythm! ☺️👏

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I did miss this (family trip into London yesterday...it was...a lot. I took two neurodivergent kids to the busiest part of the busiest town on the busiest day. We survived. Just.) This felt SO hopeless and I was waiting for the glimmer of hope, and I was about to give up, and there it was, like your signature. Things can be awful (but they might not be forever).

  • "When you can't see tomorrow, death's attractive". This was my favouriteeee line. It was so deep! This was a fantastic first attempt at a Villanelle. It's a form that I'm so terrified to try. Mike makes it look so easy! Looking forward to reading more of your Villanelles! 🍩🥐

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Reminds me of a great song I heard.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    That was really good. And I agree, These really are a pain in the arse. I'm kinda enjoying the challenge though.

  • Ace Melee5 months ago

    I also did my first villanelle. You did a nice job!

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    A M A Z I N G!!! Absolutely stellar job with this, pal! But I hope you aren’t experiencing too much of the nighttime wakings/beating yourself up. 💞 I do not like poetry rules either, so this challenge is really throwing me for a loop.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.