Poets logo

Tell Me I Can't Win

I Know I Will.

By Carol TownendPublished 23 days ago 2 min read
1
Tell Me I Can't Win
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

I work day and night, perfecting word for word,

Yet, you're still content with telling me, that my

goals are absurd,

I know I have the brains, I've proven it already,

Still, you are bent on telling me to stop being silly,

So, here I am,

Still penning those words, and honing my craft,

Your scrutiny goes unheard,

Because I know I will make it,

I have no doubt;

I'll just keep going without giving a second thought

to the words coming out of your mouth,

And one day you're going to see my name up in lights,

So go ahead, tell me I can't win;

I'm about to prove you wrong.

The inspiration for this poem came from one of my favorite songs by The Script.

Video courtesy of YouTube (Accessed by Author, dated 25/05/2024)

The Script is my biggest influence and inspiration in every aspect of my life. When I want to give up, their music reminds me of what I can achieve when I put my mind to it.

The link to that story is here:

I wrote this poem in tears because I am still grieving my loss. I very nearly gave up, and at the same time, I nearly gave up on my dreams as a writer and a singer. Then I remembered this song, and with that memory, I remembered Mark Sheehan.

Mark is someone who taught me never to give up on my dreams. He showed me that I can show the world what I can do, as long as I listen to my voice instead of those who pull me down.

The lyrics in the song say it all, and every time I hear them, they pull me back up. Hearing Danny O'Donoghue singing on stage, and remembering how hard the band worked to achieve that dream, reminds me that my goal is not out of reach as long as I keep trying.

I will be facing my battle with PTSD again this year, and seeing The Script on stage. I am heartbroken that Mark won't be there to play with the band he loved so much, but I also know he would have been proud of me for facing my fears and living my life.

inspirationalheartbreakFriendshipFree Versecelebrities
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran23 days ago

    Loved your poem! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • What a perspective! Hats off!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.