Poets logo

Falling

A Poem About Sleep-Falling

By Carol TownendPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
5
Falling
Photo by Tom Sodoge on Unsplash

Falling;

Down and down we go,

No light, no ground,

Just falling,

Will I ever find the land?

Hands out,

Steadying myself,

Twisting and turning,

Dizzy from being turned upside down.

Falling;

Falling, floating through space,

No walls to hold to steady my pace.

Falling;

Down,

Down,

Into the black abyss,

Twisting,

Turning,

Upside down,

Dizzy again, from being on my head.

I shut my eyes as I spin,

Now standing straight,

Feeling woozy without being boozy.

Falling faster,

Down,

Up

Around,

Back down like a bullet.

I hear an alarm clock shrieking in the distance,

Then I wake up;

Oh shucks, now I have to get up for work!

Can't I just go back to sleep, and,

Enjoy falling?

surreal poetryhumor
5

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    Lol, I prefer falling than going to work. Loved your poem!

  • Amazing work Carol.

  • Belle24 days ago

    Lovely, and beautifully written, Carol ❤️

  • Emil indw24 days ago

    sleeping at night for a long time is a dream. Your poem is great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.