Poets logo

You Know You're Good/No Good

Poem. Self-Reflective. Not a pity party. Internal Struggle.

By Paul StewartPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
14
You Know You're Good/No Good
Photo by Resume Genius on Unsplash

Stop/Keep trying so hard

You know, you're no good

Stop/Keep trying to be

Clever, angry, whatever

You know, you're no good

Stop/Keep writing so much

You know, you're no good

Stop/Keep trying to be

linguistically dextrous

You know, you're no good

Stop/Keep trying, stop writing

You know, you're no good

Stop/Keep trying to be

a writer, a poet, whatever

You know, you're no good

Stop/Keep, give up/Going, no-one/Someone cares

You know, you're no good

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Not a pity party. Self-reflective. Maybe probably you can relate. The internal struggle is real at times.

inspirationalsurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreakfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    JUSTIN JUSTIN JUSTIN JUSTIN JUSTIN!!! Do I have your attention now Justin? Lord Paul Shakespeare needs a Top Story for this!!!

  • Most definitely relate. Mind-jarringly well done.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Nice dichotomy! But yeah a wise man once told me: DON’T feed your demons!! 😁

  • Not me reading this poem completely in the negative voice 😅 I guess that means I can relate, lol. Loved your Paulitical poem! 🍩🥐

  • Go with the positive outlook... ignore the negative... you're an extremely talented writer with such a diverse range of topics & styles. A true inspiration. Thanks. Your poem sounds like the incessant voice in my head when I run... hence the need for loud music to drown it out!

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Oh, yes, so SO real. My current, lasting struggle of late, in fact. 😁 I really like your chosen structure for this, the strikethrough text, the double reading. Very clever, and super effective. "Stop/Keep trying to be linguistically dextrous You know, you're no good" (Ugh, it won't keep the strikethroughs. Anyway, this is my favorite part. "Dextrous" -- what a great word.) Though now I have "You're No Good" stuck in my head. Thanks, Paul. Let me pass on the earworm: https://youtu.be/e0vJNp5asqc?si=FKxGOLUna_uP_cfi (I promise I'm working on the challenge; choosing the words has been the hardest part!! Hoping to post tomorrow...)

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fantastic inspirational poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    A perfect illustration of my thoughts... Stay out of my head, Mr. Stewart! ;)

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Ach, I really appreciated the muddle of beliefs here, I dance this dance, as you know. I'd make a change Paul, near the end, for you. Strike through trying to be and replace with being.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    The negative thoughts in our heads, thank God we don’t listen and still keep writing for others to enjoy 😊

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Loved this one! I loved the use of the strike-throughs! They really drove your points home. And you're absolutely right, Paul! Someone does care & you ARE good my friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.