Poets logo

I wonder

Would it make any difference and if yes, why?

By Paul StewartPublished 6 months ago 1 min read

I wonder sometimes when I wander

Wander through the concrete-clad world we inhabit

I wonder if the plants, trees and wildlife appreciate

How far man has come in its attempts to conquer the planet

The planet that they have as much claim to as we do

I wonder as I wander

Wander through the country lanes, parks and parts where

Nature still holds its ground, where trees fight off

Fight off the onslaught of man's need to pave everything

Man's need to make everything...right

I wonder if the trees murmur among themselves, like Ents

Questioning the sensibilities of mankind

The apparant higher species

I wonder as I wander

Wander past hills, flora and fauna that have claimed the land for aeons before us

I wonder what they would say if they could voice their opinion

Make their thoughts, feelings known and air their grievances

I wonder how it would impact the world

Perhaps we would all learn to be more mindful and respectful of the fellow inhabitants of this planet

But then

I remember

As I wander and wonder

That too often, mankind does not learn.

Mankind is no more mindful and respectful of its own kind, overall, let alone, the other inhabitants that call this planet home.

Mankind butchers and subjucates those who can vocalise their pain, suffering and differing opinions.

Why would the words of mountains, seas, trees, sand dunes and the many animals and creatures that have outlived humans for centuries be any different?

Why would it make any difference?

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is what happens when I wonder and wander.

You can also take a look at some other pieces below, if you like:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

You can also, if you like, take a look at my debut book, The Accidental Poet: Poetry Collection, on Amazon, available in Kindle and paperback formats, here.

heartbreaksurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    A little different than the Christmas carol, but with a question & message that seems compatible in its resonance.

  • C. Rommial Butler6 months ago

    I enjoyed wandering with you! Many such musings have I made over the years. Ultimately, I came to the conclusion that the brutality of the hairless ape is no more remarkable than that of any other animal, except in one respect: we can imagine a better world, which is why we go to such great lengths to create it with our hands. As to whether it really is better, this remains to be seen, so, like you, I'll keep wandering and wondering until the mystery reveals itself! :)

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Loved this stroll through the park Paul! 👏👏such good ideas as frustrating as the reality is. I popped in the extended edition of fellowship this afternoon. Hadn’t watched in many years. Still holds up so well. I also wrote something a couple of weeks ago and made a reference to Tolkien at the end and wandering! ☺️👍

  • Humans are the worst of all living beings. Also the dumbest because guess what? We're the only ones who have to pay to live on Earth 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • So true! "But then I remember... As I wander and wonder That too often, mankind does not learn. Mankind is no more mindful and respectful of its own kind, overall, let alone, the other inhabitants that call this planet home." Mankind were meant to be caretakers of the planet... not conquerers. You reminded me of the saying "The only thing mankind learns from history, is that mankind doesn't learn from history." So sad.

  • Andrea Corwin 6 months ago

    Humans can be so cruel and thoughtless, selfish, ruining nature and wildlife. Some care. Trees scream in pain when cut. I wonder things like you. Nice poem.

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    This is very deep, Paul. I loved it.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    Paul, I loved this so much. I do believe that nature talks to God and vice versa. We have much to answer for.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.