Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Blood-soaked demands

Poem. Yeah, one of those.

By Paul StewartPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Blood-soaked demands
Photo by Maan Limburg on Unsplash

I demand payment

I said

to myself

I said

As I sat down and bled to myself

I demand laughter, sweat and tears

Their joy, misery and fears

I said

to myself

I said

As I sat down and bled through fingers

Over the keys, the river did run

Over the desk, the deluge overwhelmed

I demand their time, attention and more

I said

to myself

I said

As I sat down on the same chair

day after day after day

As I sat down and bled myself dry

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: I write for myself, first and foremost...but...do love when things are published and how people interact with them once they are out there in the world.

You can also take a look at these recently published pieces, if you like and such:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

You can also find my debut book thing, here on Amazon in Kindle and paperback editions.

performance poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentaryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    “The deluge overwhelmed” but sounds like a great feeling, no? One I wish I could experience more. Have you gotten back to editing your long form narrative!?

  • Oooo, the poem that I'm currently working on involves blood too! I love how in sync we are hehehehe. Loved your poem!

  • Whether literally or figuratively, I can relate.

  • Ace Melee7 months ago

    Blood? Poem? Can't say yes since I already read it and loved it. It did remind me of my younger years when I craved attention more and would do things for it (I do have regrets during that life and getting help). Take care!

  • Sara 7 months ago

    This one really struck me, you know how much I love blood ;)

  • Frankie Martinelli7 months ago

    I really love this very relatable

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.