Poets logo

What's The Big Idea?

The Bermuda Idea Triangle

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
51
What's The Big Idea?
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

"That's a brilliant idea!"

I told myself.

I told myself this

Just before I fell asleep,

When I was in the shower,

As I drove across the country

To meet my parents.

Only, guess what?

After I wake up,

After I get dressed,

When I reach my destination,

Yup,

I forget that brilliant idea.

Should I blame this forgetfulness...

On increasing age?

On the lack of paper nearby?

On an exhausted mind?

Lack of motivation?

Other priorities?

Answer motivation.

In the meantime,

I try to fill the idea void

I keep pens and paper near me

I watch mindless TV

For a break

Or read a few books

For inspiration

I converse with like-minded personalities

For validation

Or even the odd ones

For fresh perspectives.

I don't stop trying

To jot the ideas that come by down

Turn them into pieces of writing

Sometimes masterpieces

Sometimes rants and ramblings

Sometimes poems

Sometimes novels

For that is

The daily struggle

Of this writer

All the time,

Everywhere.

What say you?

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryMental HealthinspirationalGratitudeFree Versefact or fiction
51

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Lightpen28 days ago

    I say this is beautiful. It reminds me of a beautiful Chinese proverb that says, "The faintest ink is stronger than the best memory."

  • Pauline Fountainabout a month ago

    Congratulations on the TS! Very much a worthy recipient! How true ‘The Bermuda Triangle of ideas!’ My best solution I have found so far is Notes on my phone. Yet I can still be caught as an idea takes hold and my cadance flows and I find myself floating with no time for my phone Notes. Then in that moment? Gone. Pauline 🌸

  • Laura DePaceabout a month ago

    I can relate! Sometimes I text myself when a "great idea" hits me. Catch it before it gets away!

  • Ainy Abrahamabout a month ago

    Simply superb. You handle general tasks to write down this poem. congrats

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Natural style to express daily chores and associated forgetfulness.

  • This was by far the most amazing piece I have read in a long time. You have a beautiful way with words this poetry in your writing and musicality to your story.

  • “M”about a month ago

    Great ♡

  • Trishawn Blake2 months ago

    Hey Manisha, great poem! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Yes, I relate! Congrats. Sometimes I talk notes I to my phone so I won’t forget. ❣️

  • ema2 months ago

    Beautiful poem, I tend to write every note on paper to remember the idea, but the effort to transform the idea into writing is enormous, so I find myself with hundreds of post it notes everywhere!

  • Ramie Lewis2 months ago

    Brilliant ideas always rumble and twirl inside my brain....thanks for reminding to work harder at writing them down. Loved this.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    The best ideas come when I'm just about to sleep, then just like a dream, they're gone by morning. I feel the struggle. Well done and congrats on the TS.

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    This is so true! Great writing and an excellent top story.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Saba lal 2 months ago

    Excellent 👍

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Great piece! Very relatable! And brilliant subtitle!

  • I relate to this on a spiritual level since those great concepts always seem to vanish at the most inconvenient moments, forcing us to scramble to find them again in the middle of the pressures of daily life.

  • D. J. Reddall2 months ago

    It might sound trite, but you have a viable plan spelled out above: don't stop trying.

  • Reija Sillanpaa2 months ago

    Absolutely spot on! I could relate to this 100% 😂

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    🤣 This is so real! The eternal struggle!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Love the clever subtitle! It sums up a lot of what you say here. I especially dislike when I’m driving and get an idea for a story or an idea to fix a problem with a story. I almost always forget it lol. Thank you for sharing a very relatable topic.

  • Lightbringer 2 months ago

    i Love every bit of it...Amazing write up

  • Omg I felt this. All my most brilliant ideas have been forgotten!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.