Poets logo

What Eric Said

My Haiku Review of Orwell's 1984, Because Judey Said So

By Misty RaePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
9
What Eric Said
Photo by Abdul Ahad Sheikh on Unsplash

Nineteen eighty-four...

Seems to fit, I'll say no more,

Super read, so close.

This is a little something for Judey Kalchik's latest challenge, to write a haiku book review.

It's not exactly easy to reduce a book you love to 17 syllables, but hey, I love a challenge.

I chose George Orwell's 1984 for what I see as obvious reasons. Orwell, whose given name was Eric Arthur Blair, (hence the title) may have been a decade or two too late, but we can see parallels today between Winston Smith's Oceania and where we're headed.

I didn't understand this book when I read it for the first time in 1984. It was forbidden fruit. My mother wouldn't let me read it. I wasn't allowed to check it out of the local library because I was 13. My brother got it out for me.

I never thought I'd find myself revisiting this book several times almost 40 years later.

I don't want him to be right. Why are we the only species intent on destroying ourselves?

Orwell's 1984 is not only masterfully written and an entertaining and compelling story. It's a must-read for any thinking person concerned about free expression and individuality.

thank you, Judey, for the prompt.

social commentarybook reviews
9

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    The comic shop that gave me idea wants to share our #bookreviewhaiku on their social media Is that OK with you?

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Aw, I had no idea we both reviewed this one, Misty! Yours is much more fitting!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Misty, you nailed it!!! Loved it!!!

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Ms. Misty Rae ~ Perception Trumps Reality Every Single Time ~ J-Bud

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    added a link to this to my #bookreviewhaiku

  • Excellent review & response to the challenge.

  • Oooo, I would love this read this book! So intriguing! Fantastic Haiku review!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is fabulous. Great response to Judey's prompt.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    This is better than fantastic! You set the bar high with the first response to the prompt!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.