Poets logo

Weightless moments in a child’s room

A Poem

By S E McCarthyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I feel weightless.

Not the In-love kind

When your body defies

The laws of gravity -

Your feet gliding and

Your head as light as the

First taste of a lovers lips.

I feel weightless.

Not the Happy-pills kind

Their designer indifference

Leaves me vibrating

Multiples of myself –

Blurred and doubled like

Some shakily taken Polaroid.

I feel weightless.

Not the Zero-G kind

Where everyone looks happy

In their Astro-blue jumpsuits

Performing slow burls and

Catching pearly water globules

In kiss-puckered lips.

I feel weightless

Like a well-won carnival balloon

Trussed to a happy stranger’s wrist;

Dragged off by a handcuff of string

Like a common criminal.

Futile attempts at escape are

Kept in check with the occasional

Jolt by my captor.

I will the string to break but

What use is helium against the

Stubbornness of a synthetic

Umbilical cord.

Above the shouts and laughter of

Jovial families I hear the call-

The blue-tinged twilight beckons

As pink-stained clouds whisper

Promises of sweet pleasures

And a soft, lullaby death

My hollowed body will never know;

The shackle sees to that.

Instead, I’m confined to a cell

Where the sky is a closed ceiling

And the cluttered floor below

Whispers its own promises,

But not like those of the clouds –

No. These are lead-heavy and menacing.

In time my helium breath dissipates

And I begin my inevitable descent.

My starved skin fades to

A seasick version of its once

Vibrant self;

Wrinkle-tired, I sink to

The ground, becoming just another

Unwanted trinket in a

Graveyard of discarded moments.

With Guantanamo hospitality

My orange body is grabbed

And I drop into the

Dark plastic void.

I wonder if he’ll remember the

Brief, happy moment we shared.

The bag closes

And I am exiled from memory.

love poemssurreal poetryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrychildrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

S E McCarthy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.