Poets logo

We're Just Talkin'

And it's never enough.

By Erica ScottPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
We're Just Talkin'
Photo by Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

Truth knocked on my door last night and told me to stop reading the hour hand;

She said the minutes go by faster,

If I wanted something to complain about.

She told me your absence was louder than your words could ever sound,

That my tears don’t belong on the ground,

Said water is better for planting gardens.

She said dirt knocked from my heel belongs in soil, not cuddled up to my chest,

Blankets are meant for that -if you’re cold.

She said I’m only infatuated with the potential you painted,

That I’m jealous of how I love you,

How I wish I could love myself.

Truth knocked on my door and told me all this.

Though I never said I answered,

She left a note instead,

Said it was just like me to avoid the conversation.

So I called you to talk, just as I always did.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Erica Scott

A young adult, self-proclaimed poet from Florida who writes from a place of uncertainty, just hoping to one day reach the depths of someone else's heart besides her own.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Erica ScottWritten by Erica Scott

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.