Poets logo

Unwelcome

This is your final resting place

By Anna TorresPublished 26 days ago 1 min read
Unwelcome
Photo by Maksim ŠiŠlo on Unsplash

By what design am I meant to walk so cautiously with this burden? This unwholesome situation is so mentally exhausting. I let you inflict your trauma on me. I allowed you to infiltrate my core where you decided to off load all your misdeeds. Years spent undermining myself but you didn't help lift me up in any way. I provided a safe place but you were never the comfort I sought. You were a paradox I couldn't figure out. You were a contradiction that couldn't quite function. You kept trying to make me dimmer so you could shine brighter. I was inhaling your poisonous fumes and wondering why I kept asphyxiating. How can I disassociate from your entire existence? Why am I constantly at war with myself? This is the wrong kind of love and I don't want it. It keeps disrupting me and I have no need for it. Dying more and more each day until there was only a void left in me. Your selfish deeds can't keep dismembering and dismantling me. Please leave me as I am. I was overruled in the beginning but you will forever remain unwelcome now. Bargaining is done but you will never be forgiven. You will be laid to eternal rest with such vehemence. I can't continue to bandage my wounds with you still creating new ones. Vanquishing you will be an ordeal I must endure in order to survive. You were allowed here once. You have stayed past your allotted time. The clock counts down until the inevitable moment. Time of death is any minute now. You are most unwelcome from now until my grudge decays. This kind of love makes everyone unwell. Will I ever forgive you? Only time will tell

heartbreaksurreal poetryMental Healthinspirational

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Anna TorresWritten by Anna Torres

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.