Poets logo

Polytheist

You're not the only one

By Anna TorresPublished 28 days ago 2 min read
Polytheist
Photo by Jacob Bentzinger on Unsplash

I was the visionary with parallels always blocking my views. I didn't know it was you I had to confront in order to remove the blockage. I wasted time praying to you when you never heard one of my prayers. I was wrapped up in the all-consuming aura you perpetrated but you never matched anything I ever gave, you only took. You were the crack of light that never broke the seal you formed around me. There was an afterlife I had prepared for us but this world needed me free. The keeper of the dead let me go out of pity and out of spite. You wouldn't dare meet me in the middle because that would require actual consideration from you. There was always some thing I felt I had to prove. The pressure from conformity was only released when I forced you out of my life. The voices in my head criticized me worse than your nonchalance ever did. My suffering finally collapsed and collided with my outstretched hands. We grabbed a hold of one another and I threw that wretched suffering overboard for the final time. I smelled sulfur for far too long and I grew accustomed to it. I let the fear control me until I was afraid to accomplish anything. I was unaware of how conditional our love would turn out to be. I thought being hard made me unbreakable but I still ended up broken. You didn't want me to speak but so much has gone unspoken. I thought you made me heartless when it was me who had to conceal that precious commodity. Always the greedy one, stealing my peace and sanity when I had none to begin with. I wished for your blessings but only received silence. You projected your own insecurities onto me and I accepted them readily. My revenge from this possession is the exorcism of you from my life. I have uninvited you and expelled you permanently from my sight. It took a decade for me to see that you're not some kind of deity. Not some divine omniscient creator meant to deliver me from my sins. There are more out there than just you. And there are more willing to love me the way I needed to be loved. What more could you do for me that I couldn't already accomplish without you? Fear, I could do without. Worship myself, I could do again. I found out I could always start all over again

inspirationalsurreal poetryMental Healthheartbreak

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Anna TorresWritten by Anna Torres

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.