Poets logo

Matches

You cannot quench this fire

By Anna TorresPublished 30 days ago Updated 28 days ago 2 min read
Matches
Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

I never marched in line although you wasted time forcing me to. Stifling a fire that was never yours to quench. Meddling in affairs of evolution and resilience. We were trapped in gridlock pointing our fingers permanently at each other. What was once endearing is now just abhorrent and unwanted. I called you Dreamkiller but it was me who granted you all of that endless power. Forever needing reassurance but not from you. The uncensored version of myself has yet to be found. Filtered, watered down, and sanitized by extreme measures. I had to hide my true self in order to adhere to your strict standards. I broke all the rules while you continued to establish new ones. You kept trying to put out this roaring flame but all you did was make it burn brighter. My light flickers and can be see from eons away. Telescopes have witnessed my emergence into illumination. You tried to bury me with dirt. It didn't work. You tried to ruin me with water. You might as well have not even bothered. You tried to ridicule me with other matches and kerosene. But lighter fluid is useless beyond me. You tried to force dynamite down my throat. But it was you who needed to implode the most. You tried to blow me out with fables and fairy tales mixed with hyberboles. I never rose to the occasion because it was all beneath me. You used your last ounce of strength to make your final escape. You tried to set me alight with unnecessary friction and temperamental heat. There's no where we could ever meet. My embers learned to combust long before you. You kept trying to halt my progress by silencing my spark. But I've erupted into the light while you cower back into the dark. I don't need gasoline to make me more powerful. I am more than just the chemicals you tried to exile me with. These scars you helped create are now my trophies. My smoke rises and my vapor boils. I am moving beyond the boundaries and fences you installed around me. I have expanded unscathed and I have become more. I am something you cannot recognize anymore

heartbreaksurreal poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Anna TorresWritten by Anna Torres

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.