Poets logo

Rex the lonesome king

An unworthy monarch

By Anna TorresPublished 24 days ago 2 min read
1
Rex the lonesome king
Photo by Brett Meliti on Unsplash

I watched my kingdom deteriorate slowly until it became a nothingless void. Ancient Laramidia couldn't survive extinction status but I was already a dying carnivore long before the end. They all knew me as a predator but it wasn't all true. I walked the lonesome path because I didn't know how to allow anyone else to walk beside me. I looked in the reflection in the lake ripples but couldn't see past my own impossible flaws. I couldn't hug myself even if I wanted to. I played the role of an apex scavenger when I always wanted to be more. The reputation of this Cretaceous period lies solely within my fossilized monarchy. How could I be unafraid when I was simply pretending to be? How do we love ourselves despite our demons manifesting deep within ourselves? With a crown so heavy on my head and cruel irony forever tormenting me. Everyone else seems to be content with their bodies and self-image but not me. Why is self-esteem so easily attainable for everyone but me? I didn't choose to be like this. I didn't choose to look like this nor feel like this. I'm supposed to be a king on a massive throne but this throne is powerless to give me what I truly want. Acceptance of one's self despite contradictions and abnormalities. There are the dinosaurs that fly in the sky and they are happy and at peace. There the ones that roam in herds and can actually touch their loved ones. I am burdened to walk this path alone with no regard for my own admiration. What can I do when all I want is to be something more? My aspirations are dwindling. I cannot bear the weight of this heavy crown forever. I watched the twinkling stars evolve into morning light and hazy dewdrops. I spied out of the corner of my eye a comet in the sky. Maybe this will be the change I so instantly crave. Something to make me quit comparing myself to everyone else. When my world shifted completely, I was still left with this burden. I hope my ancestors do not carry this meaningless weight as I once did. It achieves nothing to be so preoccupied with hating your own worth. I questioned my own meaning and my own existence. My crown is heavy with self-doubt. I can only hope I learn to accept these imperfections and remember, I am worthy and I am enough just as I am

inspirationalsurreal poetrysad poetryMental Health
1

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    Awww, I wish I could give him a hug. Loved this so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.