Poets logo

Lights Out!

🌃

By BrettNotGregPublished 5 days ago 1 min read
Lights Out!
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The humming and rattling of the old ceiling fan turned up on high so perfectly compliments the medium-depth of darkness that surrounds my very presence.

To the right exists the dim, off-white outline of a closed door, representing the peace that I so very much deserve.

To my left, the moon shines through my thin, blue window curtain as a reminder that I am not alone.

The warmth of the blanket paired with the comfort of many pillows are in contrast with my belief: This is not a ritual, but a space of comfort and relaxation.

I do not exist within this space for the sole purpose of sleep. That will happen naturally as I reflect and unwind.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Thank you so much for reading my work! Any feedback or support that you have to offer is accepted and appreciated.

ProseFree Verse

About the Creator

BrettNotGreg

Thirty-something creative with a wide spectrum of interests.

Wanna buy me a coffee?

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • angela hepworth3 days ago

    Amazing poem!!

  • Ah, this felt so comfy! Loved your poem!

BrettNotGregWritten by BrettNotGreg

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.