Poets logo

Unwanted

the simple truth

By Heather HublerPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
25
Created by author using Nightcafe Studio

.

She stands there quietly in the corner.

No one notices her silent form

save me.

Grayish skin, loose and wrinkled,

hangs on her large frame

as though she wears clothes two sizes too large.

.

No one wants to look at an unwelcome oaf.

.

Her scent assaults me despite our distance,

sweaty and salty,

a potent combination that pricks

my red-rimmed eyes,

with the acrid smell,

coating my tongue with cloying betrayal.

.

She shrinks in on herself when I turn away.

.

I can feel her nervous energy spreading

like an electric current,

running over my skin and

raising the hair on the back of my neck.

Her body subtly swaying

as she shifts

from foot to foot.

.

She knows she's not supposed to be here.

.

Her awkward movements make

the pressure in the room

inch and climb

until my head feels full and my ears

cry out with the need to–pop!

The silence in the aftermath is deafening.

.

She looks to you,

but you've got your head planted firmly in the sand.

.

Goose bumps break out across my flesh

as my eyes finally catch hers,

drawn like mayflies to a lamp.

A million unanswered questions

linger in my gaze and clog my throat.

Nothing but solemn gray stares back.

No answer but a simple nod and downcast eyes.

.

Her dismissal stings.

.

For she knows my miserable secret

and yours–

I told you that I loved you.

And you?

You told me you were leaving.

.

Now here I sit

as you pack your things

and stare at that damn elephant in the room.

sad poetryheartbreak
25

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    So full of emotion. Loved this

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Wow, this is amazing. Thick with emotion and weighted implications, I feel like I just intruded on something I shouldn’t have, yet have experienced myself. The last line just ties it all together so perfectly. ✨

  • J. Delaney-Howe11 months ago

    The whole poem was gripping. It really captures you the whole way through. Haunting. Until the end. Been in that position before. ❤

  • Holly Pheni12 months ago

    Heather this is a standout piece! Gripping and emotional. You are so good!

  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    This hurts. Like, this feels like a weirdly ghostly punch straight to the chest, and after it's been delivered the weight just sits there. Like as if the elephant in the room is pressing down upon my chest. I may be standing currently, but I'm slowly pushed down until my ribs begin to crack, their shrapnel-like shards disbursing out and lacerating my heart, veins, and traveling from my arteries. A thousand tiny cuts release the squall, the hurricane, of the sea of blood that discolors me and tears me apart from the inside. All from the blunt force of the elephant in the room. Who knew that something so big, so large, so magnificent, could cause such intricate, delicate, internal damage. No heat strings have been pulled, as they have been shredded like vines torn from the tusks of the mighty elephant, left to hang and dangle, leaking their precious life stream fluid, that used to connect the jungle that was my body. Nutrients spilled, scavenged off the forests floor by the microbiome, just as the love given has been retracted, only to be torn apart by the scavengers as what was left begins to rot, and its carrion draws in only those known to feast of what once was.

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Oooooo. So good! Masterfully held back and boom! Weighty! 💜

  • Dean F. Hardy12 months ago

    Was genuinely expecting to see an image of your dog at the end of this! 😂

  • Kalina Bethany12 months ago

    I felt my heart sink at the end, what a line.

  • Oof, the ending hit me hard! I had to go and reread from the beginning and saw it with a fresh pair of eyes. Also, I told him that I loved him and he told me he was leaving. So it was very relatable too. Loved this poem!

  • Caroline Craven12 months ago

    What a great ending! Love it!

  • JBaz12 months ago

    And you were unsure of your poetry. My friend you are. I have nothing to say, this brought tears to my eyes.

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    Did not see that coming - bravo!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    I have to admit I had to get to the end to realize it. Excellent poem, Heather!

  • Ahna Lewis12 months ago

    I wasn't expecting that last line! Well done, Heather!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    WOW! That last line. Great finish!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Oh damn. That last line got me. Incredible piece, my friend.

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Damn fucking damn, Heather! You've hit it out the park again! So sad, so clever, but sad. Loved how you finished it off with that line. Bravo.

  • Stare at the Elephant 🐘👀😆Nice piece ❤️😉❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.