Poets logo

Until I met you

How breathing feels now

By Victoria Published 6 months ago 1 min read

I initially failed to notice it

the initial encounter with you resembled a gentle August breeze.

It was pleasant, but I didn't give it much thought afterwards.

However, I began to see you every day.

And just like the breeze gradually warms up towards spring

, my feelings for you grew

it was the little things that made me feel warm inside.

Like when you kicked a stone off my path.

Or when you called me

No matter how late it was, just to ensure my safe arrival home.

Or when you let me win that game of cards.

Or when you picked a ruffled bougainvillea from the road

instead of plucking one,

and gifted it to me.

Or when you allowed me to have the last piece of cake.

Or when you held the umbrella more towards my side.

You made me feel the way a breeze through your hair feels

on a scorching summer day.

Refreshing. A breath of fresh air.

It made me yearn to experience it again

and again. And again, for the rest of my life.

It made me long to know with certainty

that the breeze would play with my hair every summer day.

And blow dandelions and dry leaves onto my face in the spring.

And dry my rain-soaked clothes

so that the rain could soak them all over again in the monsoon.

And sweep away the clouds of mist

and misunderstandings in the winters.

I never realized how invigorating breathing could be until I met you.

love poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VWritten by Victoria

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.