Poets logo

Unsent Letters

Excerpt from 'Wasted Love'

By Poppy Published about a year ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
5

To the boy who

Sits in front of me in English class

I have not forgotten you

To the boy who

Used to turn around

To talk to me in Math

I still think about you

(Often)

To the boy with

The eyes I refuse

To look into

I’d still gaze into

Those eyes for

The rest of my life

If it didn’t hurt

So badly

To the boy who

Now avoids me

Oh how I wish

I could tell you that

I’d rather be by your side

Than running away

To the boy who

Sold his soul

I hope I’m still in

Your heart somewhere

To the boy who

Used to smile at me

Have you ever lost any

Smiles because of me?

To the boy who

Used to tease me

Whenever he could

Tell me, do you still care?

Dear Cupid,

Please tell the boy I love

That I miss him

From,

The girl who can't stop loving

❀❀❀❀❀

Note: This poem is an excerpt from 'Wasted Love' (but has been altered to fit the Epistolary Challenge). This book is available in eBook and paperback format at the link below:

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    This makes me think about the second act of the "The Music Man" when Professor Harold Hill is trying to persuade Marian Paroo to meet him at the footbridge when he says, "My dear little librarian--pile up enough tomorrows & you'll find you've collected nothing but a lot of empty yesterdays. I don't know about you, but I'd like to make today worth remembering." Is there anyone who doesn't have that childhood crush over whom they simply must occasionally pine away? Wistful, poignant, charming & sad.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.