Poets logo

Cold

Buried Empathy

By Poppy Published about a year ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
7
Cold
Photo by SIMON LEE on Unsplash

To my Ex Best Friend,

Last year you told me you’d never leave

It was snowing inside and

A wildfire was lapping at the doors

And you said you’d stay

No matter what

Yesterday I checked the spot beside me

The space you used to fill

And found a hollowing kind

Of absence in your place

Months ago, your kind face warped

Into one of indifference and

All I could do was watch

You were hurriedly burying your empathy

And I was trying desperately to

Wrestle the shovel from your grip

But you were more than happy

To use your bare hands

When they were covered in dirt and scratches

You used them to push me away

A shockingly unfamiliar look

Of carelessness in your eyes

You used to be the softest person I knew

Soft like the soil flowers grow in

Soft like the trampoline mat

That transports me to the sky

Soft like the wings of a dove

You used to be the kind of person

Whose reassurance you could sink into

Your words and embraces were comforting

But never so much as your presence itself

Somewhere along the way

You decided softness equalled weakness

Somewhere along the way you

Whittled away your compassion

And turned it into something

With sharp edges

Now, you are all hard lines

Rough exterior and numb eyes

The kind of soil flowers wilt in

The kind of armour that

Suffocates rather than protects

The kind of ground bones break on

You used to be the warmest person I knew

Warm as sunlight

Warm as firelight

Warm as the softest fabric

You were the kind of warmth

People crave no matter the weather

The kind of warmth that

Provides a golden glow

The kind of warmth that emanates safety

Somewhere along the way warmth turned to heat

But with the temperature increasing

So slowly and gradually

I didn’t realise I was burning until

It was too late

Even then I stayed

Like you promised you would

Yet now, you are cold

Cold like a winter wind that blows relentlessly

Cold like the darkest night

Cold like frozen water

How are you not shivering?

How are you not cracking apart like I am?

You have turned to ice and

I wonder if that makes me

The Titanic

Last year you made promises and

Months ago you broken them and

Today I am still trying

To breathe through the abandonment

I am the consistency of dusk and dawn

And I refuse to resent myself for

You leaving when, despite

Your flaws and mine

I stayed by your side

Through every kind of changing weather

Even the kind that happened inside you

Last year I was happy

Months ago I was broken

Today I am healing

Tomorrow I will be too

From,

The one you gave up on.

❀❀❀❀❀

Please check out more of my poems:

And my poetry book Wasted Love.

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Angry, bitter, filled with resentment over promises broken & hope unfulfilled, but filled with a resilience that survives the devastation & comes out the other side with healing & increasing strength..., ...& joy..., joy that will not be denied.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was poignant and beautiful I loved that you ended with time healing the wound. Well done!

  • Nice piece ✨😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.